Roasted Aparagus and Egg Sandwiches

I saw these asparagus -egg sandwiches on thekitchn.com a few weeks back and they seemed like a good idea, I`m too lazy to find the link, but this is my version. I thought of adding roasted mushrooms to the mix, but had just put the asparagus in the oven, so I skipped it. I`ll try it next time.

This is pretty fast and simple and would be a good use of leftover asparagus, but I usually don`t have leftover asparagus – it gets eaten as it is cooked. Peel the lower stalks on the asparagus, it makes a difference and who wants a stringy sandwich, then again, I don`t understand why people would ever want stringy asparagus, gross. I had some basil-spinach pesto in the fridge that I made the other day, it`s a good addition.

What I Used:

1 lb Asparagus, bottom half peeled

4 cloves Garlic

Sea Salt, Pepper, Olive Oil

2 Ciabatta Rolls, or baguette

2 eggs

white vinegar

Pesto

Dijon Mustard

What I Did:

Prep the asparagus. Toss on a baking sheet with the garlic cloves and drizzle with olive oil, a pinch of sea salt and pepper. Stick it in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes. When the timer is up, stir and cook again for another 20 until the garlic is roasted and soft and the asparagus is caramelized.

I made a simple salad for the husband and a kale salad for me while this was roasting.

Stick the bread in the oven to warm it, then slice and toast in the oven for about 5 minutes at 400 degrees.

While the bread is toasting, bring a shallow pan of water to boil. Add a splash of vinegar. Poach the eggs on a simmer for 3 minutes.

Spread bread with pesto on one side and dijon mustard on the other. Assemble the sandwich laying out the asparagus and topping each with an egg.

20120402-215648.jpg

20120402-215658.jpg

Plate It.

Eat It.


One Comment on “Roasted Aparagus and Egg Sandwiches”

  1. […] Roasted Aparagus and Egg Sandwiches (frshforce.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a comment