Salmon Burgers with Wasabi Avocado Mayo

I’m doing this whole post via iphone so am keeping it short

This is a pretty easy and healthy thing to make. I suppose you could bake the salmon cakes, but I’m out of non stick foil so I did in the pan. While the is easy and fast, to get a nice golden crust on the salmon, you want to give yourself a good half hour to cook them. With the wasabi-avocado mayo, they are like salmon sushi burgers, but cooked.

I skip a bread binder to keep it gluten free and cal count lower, if you skip putting it on bread product, it is totes gluten free. I used the bread product because I like it.

20120409-223530.jpg

What I Used:
1 14 oz can Atlantic Salmon in water. I prefer using canned salmon for this – the canned salmon is wild, not farmed, and line caught while in season. It’s actually more sustainable.
2 Scallions
1 Egg
1 Tbsp Wasabi-avocado Mayo – recipe follow
About a tablespoon of Lemon Juice
Pepper, crushed red pepper
A handful of fresh Thyme or Parsley. Optional
Olive oil
2 Ciabatta Rolls or some sort of bread to put it on. Unless you want to skip the bread.

For Wasabi-Avocado Mayo:
1 Avocado
3 Tbsp Mayonnaise
1-2 Tbsp Wasabi, to taste
Juice of half a Lemon

What I Did:

Make the mayo. Half and pit the avocado and put into a bowl. Add the lemon juice, mayo and wasabi and combine until smooth with a spoon or fork. This will make more than you need, and can be used on probably everything because it is tasty.

20120409-225011.jpg

Make the salmon cakes. Drain the salmon and pull out the large bones. They are soft and edible, so you don’t have to get wild about getting them all out. Chop the scallions and combine into the salmon with a fork. Season with pepper and crushed red pepper. It does not need salt.  Add the egg, lemon juice, herbs if using, a tablespoon of the mayo-mix and combine fully with a fork.  Set aside.

20120409-225156.jpg

Heat a pan on medium low with a tablespoon or so of olive oil. I find a nonstick or cast iron pan works best here. I let it heat for about 5-7 minutes – you want the man pretty hot.

Form the salmon into 2 cakes. Once you drain the water it is only 3 oz of fish, so don’t freak out about this making 2. If you want to make smaller ones, be my guest.

So make 2 cakes and put in the heated pan and be patient. You want to cook each side for 10 minutes to start. Don’t flip it over for 10 minutes, you will not get a crust, or worse, you’ll break it. So leave it on medium low heat and walk away with a timer set for 10 minutes.

 

Timer is up, carefully flip. I use 2 spatulas 1 on top and 1 under because I am clumsy and have broken these before and am paranoid. Do what you will. Cook for another 10 minutes.
See crust, but still not golden enough for me.

20120409-225818.jpg

I made simple salad and watched Gossip Girl while I waited. Why do I still watch Gossip Girl?

So my timer was up, I wanted it browner so I flipped again and cooked another 5 minutes or so.

Ok, it’s done.

20120409-230242.jpg

I spread my ciabatta rolls- I used those for bread – with the mayo mix. If you are being bread-free just add the wasabi mayo to the top on a nice way.

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120409-230636.jpg

One Comment on “Salmon Burgers with Wasabi Avocado Mayo”

  1. [...] Salmon Burgers with Wasabi Avocado Mayo [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.