Roasted Wild Ramps and Asparagus with Salmon and Wasabi Edamame Rice

I suppose this could be 3 separate posts, but I am too lazy for that, and made it all together, so 1 post it is. Besides, these all go together well.

Ramps are in their brief season, so I grabbed some and decided to roast them. I still have another half bunch that I will possibly make a pesto with.

This is all an impossibly simple dinner to make and it could be grilled if you have the weather for it. I`m roasting mine. Salmon, just foil-wrapped and roasted. Asparagus, just peel the ends and roast it. The rice, just add some lime, wasabi, and edamame. That`s it.

Ramps are so the best thing ever so get some and try this.

20120501-232403.jpg

Plating fail – I broke the salmon transferring to the plate.  Doh!

20120501-232445.jpg

What I used:

1 lb Asparagus

1/2 bunch Wild Ramps

Salt, Pepper, Olive Oil

8oz Salmon Fillet – this is for 2 people. You could have your fishmonger cut the fillets for you, I just do 1 and cut after.

Pepper, Wasabi or Dijon Mustard

1 Cup dry Basmati Rice + water per cooking instructions, mine used 1 3/4 cup water

6oz Frozen Shelled Edamame

1 Tablespoon Wasabi

Juice and Zest of 1 lime

Sea Salt, Pepper

What I Did:

Prep the asparagus and ramps. Trim the ends off the asparagus and peel the lower stalk. Cut the root ends off the ramps. Toss on a baking sheet with a drizzle of olive oil, sea salt and pepper.

20120501-232349.jpg

 

Stick in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.

Prep the salmon. Sprinkle with pepper and spread the dijon or wasabi over the top. I used dijon since I only had enough wasabi in the house for the rice.

20120501-232411.jpg

Wrap up tightly into a packet with foil.

Timer is up, stir the asparagus and ramps and stick back in. Put the salmon in and set a timer for 25 minutes. Cooking the salmon in the foil packet will steam it and it is pretty fool-proof – it is hard to overcook as the fish will stay moist wrapped up.

Stat the rice. Bring the water to a boil and add the rice, a pinch of salt, the pepper, and the lime juice. Cook per the instructions. Mine is a 15 minute cook. When the timer is up add the edamame and wasabi. Stir and recover for 5-10 minutes – about the same time to finish the fish and veg.

Timer is up – the leaves of the ramps will be crisp – don`t worry! The crispy leaves are super delicious. Open the foil packet and cut the fish into 2 portions, careful to keep the juice in the foil. I de-skinned my fish at this point. I also was not careful when cutting the fish and failed at keeping it in single fillets.

Plate the rice and veg. Put the fish on the rice and drizzle the juice from the salmon over the top.

Plate It – (though I guess I just told you how to).

Eat It.

20120501-232445.jpg

 

6 Comments on “Roasted Wild Ramps and Asparagus with Salmon and Wasabi Edamame Rice”

  1. Alyson says:

    Thanks for the link! This looks delicious. I have never had ramps before, but I keep hearing so much about them, I might have to look into them soon.

    • bombedpop says:

      Ramps are only around for like 2 weeks – definitely get them and try. They are like a cross between and onion and a garlic to my tastes and the leaves are edible when cooked.

  2. Karen says:

    Your meal sounds quick and easy to prepare. I especially like the idea of the rice with the lime juice and wasabi.

  3. sybaritica says:

    That all looks terrific. I’d love to see ramps in our local stores sometime.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.