Fancy Fresh Cheesy Fettuccine with Sungold Cherry Tomatoes and Pesto

20110909-122913.jpg

I went to the bar after work per usual as was Thursday night and wanted to make something super fast when I got home, cuz it was a bit late. I had my pasta share from my Tuesday CSA pickup in the fridge, this week it was while wheat fettucine. Now honestly, this is the 3rd time this year that we have gotten the a whole wheat egg-pasta from the CSA and I’m a bit embarrassed to admit that, um, we have ended up tossing all of them as we let them sit in the fridge a little too long. After this, I think we were right. The spinach pastas are great! The regular plain – nice! The carrot, the beet, the tri-colored, all aces! The whole wheat – eh, no. It was not inedible, though the husband claimed it had a dirt consistency, but it was blah and the texture was way too soft. Next time they offer this, I’m going to pass on it – hopefully, with only 5 weeks left of CSA share, I won’t see it again.

Anyhoo – off to the recipe. I would suggest no using whole wheat fresh pasta for this, but if you like that sorta thing, well, you are eating it, not me. I really like using the fresh pasta with a raw “sauce”, and this whole thing is pretty no-cook. You can even just use a 3.5 qt sauce pan to cook the pasta in so it is even faster – 5min to boil – 3 min to cook pasta, that’s it. Perfect post-boozy food on a school night.

What I used:
12oz Fresh Whole wheat Egg Pasta – see above and don’t get whole wheat, any other is better.
2-3oz Saint Andre cheese
1 pint Sungold cherry tomatoes
about 2 tablespoons of Spinach Pesto (I made this over the weekend and always keep a container around for quick meals, spread it on grilled cheese, super versatile and keeps about a month.) Don’t buy pesto – just make this, seriously make it! *Recipe below
Pepper, Crushed red pepper

Put a saucepan filled with water on to boil. Put some salt in there.

Cut the cherry tomatoes in half and put in a large bowl.

Cut off a hunk of the Saint Andre – like 2-3 oz. and cut it into pieces. This is easiest if it is cold, since it is a triple creme. Add it to the bowl of tomatoes.

Put a heaping tablespoon of pesto in the bowl and stir it around. Add some pepper – black and crushed red. The tomatoes are actually pale orange, but my iphone wants to say otherwise:

20110909-122847.jpg

Waters boiling – add the pasta and cook it for 3 min or so. I cooked it for 3 min.

Drain it and add it to the bowl of tomatoes, cheese, pesto. stir it around vigorously so the cheese melts. At this point I stepped outside for 5 min and let it sit and melt. You can do this or keep stirring until it melts, whatever, I suppose it depends on whether you smoke or not.

I made a simple salad too, it involved opening the box of mix baby greens, putting them in a bowl and putting the lemon/olive oil dressing I made earlier this week on it.

Plate it and eat it.

20110909-122913.jpg

Spinach Pesto (Made on Sunday, not pictured)

What I used:
1 box baby spinach – it is all cleaned and ready to go
2-3 garlic cloves
handful of pine nuts
handful of basil
crushed red pepper
DOP Olive oil – buy the stupid DOP and don’t skimp on price!
a couple spoonfuls of aged PARMIGIANO – REGGIANO – get the aged one!
Salt, pepper

What I did:
My stupid overpriced kitchen-aid food processor is being a total POS and won’t lock in place for no reason – it is not even been in use a full year, but since it was bought over a year ago, the warranty is over. So I have to buy a new bowl that will lock into place and I am really unhappy about this, and I am stupid enough to think I can will it to lock into place. So I started to make my pesto in the kitchen-aid, but yeah, that went nowhere, lucky I was smart enough not to add oil this time! So it was not really a mess. In desperation, I got out the small prep chop attachment to my immersion blender and set about making it with that. Note: the last time I used that attachment I could not get the lid off it and stared at my roumalade for 4 days before I finally got it open. This was several years ago. I was desperate and willing to try again. This time I tested the lid 3 times. I could get it open each time and set to work. I had to do this in batched because the container is small. It does all fit in the end, but you just have to add the spinach in batches so it takes longer. I really have no instructions here – just whir it all together and it becomes pesto. Easy, right? Why people buy pesto is beyond me – it has a long shelf life if you make it yourself.

4 Comments on “Fancy Fresh Cheesy Fettuccine with Sungold Cherry Tomatoes and Pesto”

  1. Whole wheat pastas can be tricky. Looks like you did your best. The pesto sounds great.

  2. This looks seriously fantastic! What great colours.


Leave a Reply

