Pâte Brisée

I did not make anything of note for dinner, though the pasta with caramelized sungold cherry tomatoes turned out exceptional. And super pan caramelized. But alas, I did not take any pics. And I was lucky enough to have a fancy business lunch at Nougatine today. I had the tuna tartare with avocado, radish and ginger soy, and a roasted beets on “rich yogurt,” mâché and a drizzle of infused oil. The “yogurt” was more of a super creamy goat cheese and so good and the tuna tartare there is aces. But unfortunately, being a biz lunch, I could not take pics. But I highly recommend their lunch And luckily, my boss favors the place, so it is my go to on the rare occasions that I get to have a free lunch and not my standard chobani yogurt + rice crackers and a pics of fruit. Yes, I eat that every day. Sad. Anyways, The fixed price is only $32 for 3 courses, though I just ordered 2 starters and called it a meal so this was like $25. A total steal for the quality, even if it is in the unsavory location of a Trump building. And far more uptown than I normally go.

Since I have not been sleeping much, and the rain tonight did not help, I struggled to cross the street to hit the gym. I’m glad I did as I decided to make my pâte brisée, ie the tart crusts for Saturday’s dinner party. I had to work off the amount of butter that seeped into my skin via hand formation of dough. Though my hands are now buttery soft. Literally.

20110922-120724.jpg

After dinner, I decided to just get this out of the way since it is pretty speedy and I was just watching the premier of Revenge anyhow, which I was hoping would be my new Melrose Place 2.0 that was cancelled waaay to early last year. And I still don’t know the reasons for Sydney’s demise or how she could have an adult daughter only like 12 years since the original went off the air. But I digress.

The husband thought I was nuts. For watching Revenge and for making the pate brisee at 10pm.  I do not think  he realized how simple it is. There are only 4 ingredients and there is no rise. Why not just do it.

What I used:
5 cups All purpose flour. I used king Arthur and thought of using the French flour but decided not to since I had not before and did not want to chance it not turning out.
1 teaspoon sea salt. Fine not course
12 oz unsalted cold butter. I use Pamplie French AOC butter, cuz that’s how I roll. I suggest it, but you do what you will. Just use unsalted
About 18 teaspoons + 6 tablespoons real measure of ice water, now this is because the recipe I use is written wrong and since it is online, I thought it should be tablespoons, but couldn’t remember and maybe they fixed it and it did not sound right and I knew there was something off but better to add less to start than too much. It should have been 16-20 tablespoons.

What I did:
I got all my stuffs out and a big bowl and my pastry blender that my mom gave me forever ago and that I never used until a year ago when I first made this.

20110922-122412.jpg

This is I swear the best recipe for a beginning baker cuz you don’t need a kitchen scale or to proof or anything special. And it is super forgiving. Being weird though, my first foray into baking involved buying imported flour and dinking around with pizza dough. Then like a week later finding this website forum on baking that’s all the mens having a middle aged crises, and instead of fast cars and loose ladies, they pursue baking obsessively, like every day they bake and bake and bake.  Not that there is anything wrong with that.  So since the husband is a recipe cook/is not into cooking/I was looking for a way to get him to get into cooking, I was convinced that he could get behind baking. So we decided to do a double hydration dough that required 2 proofs and exactly 120 slap and folds and an exact 21 hour autolyse dough and more imported flour for French baguette tradition.  We watched these videos of Steve slapping and folding and double hydrating over and over until we were certain we could emulate. And I swear, those baguettes are as close to Paris as we are going to get without a flight. But I digress and will revisit this soon as bread baking season is about to begin.

So yeah, this shizz is easy. That is why I just got it out of the way now.

So mix the flour and salt in a big bowl with the pastry blender. A fork will work too. Cut up the cold butter and cut it into the flour with the pastry blender or fork.

20110922-123654.jpg

When it is in balls and a cornmeal like consistency, start adding the water. It will look like this:

20110922-123831.jpg

Add more ice to your water because it probably melted. At least mine did. Especially if you have to keep stopping to take pics and are trying to keep your iphone butter free.

So add the water a few tea/tablespoons at a time until it starts to come together. This is a vague term here since you have to remember it is all butter binding this and it is not going to be a super smooth dough, that is how it gets all flaky. So when it looks like most of the loose flour is balled up in chunks with the butter, it has come together and you can combine it into a solid dough with your hands now.

20110922-124405.jpg

Better to err on the dry side here. You can always add a bit more water if needed when you are handling it, but you will be surprised that once you get in with your hands it will really become a dough. A Big old butter slab of dough. Mine needed no more water so I turned it out of the bowl and onto my clean worksurface where I just smashed it into a disk and flipped it a few times. I then divided it into 4 pieces.

20110922-124844.jpg

Remember, I quadrupled my recipe, you can cut this down, but since the dough can be frozen for 2 months, why? Whatevs, do what you will. I got out the scale and made sure they were all equal, 12.2 oz, flattened them into disks, clingwrapped them, and put in a freezer bag. If using that day, refrigerate for at least 30 min prior to rolling out for use so the butter rehardens and it rests.

20110922-125338.jpg

Revenge was now over and I enjoyed it because I like trashy tv.

I’m saving my pâte brisée for later, and if I am feeling like getting it out of the way, may roast my beets tomorrow to save me some time.

Otherwise, just fill it
And
Eat it.

4 Comments on “Pâte Brisée”

  1. […] pate brisee, or crust.  I did this in advance, though it is pretty easy and fast – ingredients are just four, […]

  2. […] pate brisee/crust Approx 4 oz Boucheron or other decent Goat Cheese Mint 1/3 Cup Aged Balsamic […]


Leave a Reply

