Roasted Beets + Marco Pierre White

I really enjoyed The Devil in the Kitchen, so imagine my disappointment when I started being inundated with Marco Pierre White starring in ads for Knorr.  Worse, the upshot of the ad is that he pretends to use the preservative laden product in restaurants, which he, like every other “star chef,” don’t actually cook in, and worse, like he uses it in cooking at home.   Maybe I am naïve (see Hal Hartley), but I kinda liked that White publicly stopped ended his restaurant chef career to pursue more money in endorsements/ad revenue/tv/etc.   You know, I kinda respected the honesty, unlike every other name brand chef.  But, now he’s pretending to work in the kitchen with this Knorr business. I`m disappointed.

Edit: a quick search today led me to this, and also that he has been shelling for them for years, the US ads are just new.  Oops, though, still am  disappointed.

Now on to the beets.

20110922-111930.jpg

I am still getting my dinner party together and cooking in advance. Took care of the beets for the beet/fig tart tonight.

What I used:

a mix of 1.5lbs of baby Red and Yellow Beets

Pepper

Olive oil

What I Did:

clean and trim the greens off the beets, save the greens for salad or juicing. slice in 1/4 inch rounds and cut those in half. Through on a baking sheet covered in foil so you don`t have to clean it. drizzle olive oil and pepper on it. put in 425 degree oven for 25 min:

20110922-112018.jpg

Check it. Not soft and pierceable with a fork? then put it back for 15 min. Done? yes, take out. No? Just check again every 10 min until you can pierce with a fork. Mine were done:

Let it cool for a bit and marvel at how little you have to do for your dinner party, but also realize that you don`t think this is quite enough, because you want your quantity of recipe in lbs rather than size, i.e. what does ~3 medium~ mean? I used 8 small and it doesn`t look like much, so I will roast 1 more regular sized one on saturday when I do my caramelized onion and roast the figs, but no worries, if too much, I’ll eat it another time.

Also wear gloves, I did not, even though I knew I should and now have stained hands. Doh!

20110922-111957.jpg

20110922-112007.jpg

Save for later or cook your tart. Eventually,

Eat it.

20110922-111940.jpg

One Comment on “Roasted Beets + Marco Pierre White”

  1. […] 2 bunches of baby beets, 1 yellow, 1 red + 1 medium regular beet Olive Oil Sea Salt, Pepper […]


Leave a Reply

