Tarts and Tarts Part 1: Caramelized Onion Tart

This set of posts is going to be different since I normally write my posts as/right after cooking, but this time I am doing it the next day since these are all part of a dinner party menu.  I was going to make one big old long post, but it would be really long.  I`m going to pretend here that I was not super multitasking and just made these one at a time.

First up, Caramelized Onion Tart – not quite sure why I bothered with a recipe, it is what it is, but I kept this up as reference. I didnt`t really follow the directions, but you can, or don`t, or ignore mine, you call.

20110925-055042.jpg

What I used:

1 pate brisee, or crust.  I did this in advance, though it is pretty easy and fast – ingredients are just four, butter, salt, ice water.

6 onions – 3 were large videlias and 3 were small-med yellow onions.  It does not mater what you use, really it doesn`t, some people like red onions, I don`t, use what you like.  Also, you don`t really need this many onions, but it is better to have too many than not enough, they shrink and take so long that if you short yourself you are screwed.  If you make too many, they keep and you save yourself having to take the time again.

Olive oil

Salt

Smoked Paprika

Sherry or White Wine

Appellenzer cheese, or Aged Gruyère, or Comte or similar cheese  – I guess I used about 2 oz shredded.

What I did:

Chop all the onions into slices:

20110924-044448.jpg

20110924-044501.jpg

Heat a large saute pan, or 2, I started with 2 since I had a lot of onions and you want them to be in as much contact with heat as possible. They don`t have to be a single layer.  Add some oil and when it is hot, the onions.  Salt the onions, like a good pinch and turn the heat to med-low.  Stir and sweat the onions.  As mine cooked down I combined them in batches to one pan.  you don`t have to do this but I did to save myself dome room on the stove and to just have them all in one pan.  They are going to shrink by more than half so no use for 2 pans.

There is a big lie going around that you have to babysit the onions as they caramelize.  You don`t, just keep the heat low and set a timer for 10 minutes and stir them when the timer goes off so they don`t burn.  Turn the heat to low after they are all cooked and sweated and are yellow-ish.  Continue cooking.  have something else to do cuz this is going to take a while.  When they are starting to take on the brown caramelized color add some paprika.  I do this later because it colors the onion and I don`t want to be fooled by the coloring. When they are getting close to done and the pan get dry, or if the pan gets dry at all, add the booze and deglaze.  After an hour-2 hours they will be all broken down and ready. Set aside.

Roll out the dough on a piece of parchment.  Don`t skip the parchment.  roll it pretty thin and like 12-14 inches. It can be an oval or and type of round-ish shape.  hold a grater over the rolled out dough and shred the cheese directly onto it.  Just make a light layer of cheese.  Add the onions, like I said, I used half of what I made or approx a cup and a half of caramelized onion.  Spread it out leaving 2 inches all the way around the dough onion-less.  Pick up the grater and cheese again and grate some cheese over the top, just to your liking. Fold up all the edges  to make like a purse and shred a bit more cheese over that:

20110925-054909.jpg

 

Did you preheat your oven to 400?  Good, then slide it into the oven parchment and all to a baking sheet.  I used a pizza peel to do this and it was really helpful.  Bake it for 30 min until crust is golden and cheese is bubbly and brown.  Plate it.  I made this earlier in the day and just rewarmed at 250 for 10 min or so an it was perfect.

 

Eat it.

20110925-055042.jpg

 

3 Comments on “Tarts and Tarts Part 1: Caramelized Onion Tart”

  1. kat says:

    YUMMM! Caramelized onions are so delicious! Such a cute idea! 🙂

  2. […] Tarts and Tarts Part 1: Caramelized Onion Tart (frshforce.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] 6 of them earlier and pulled them out of the freezer to use but had a few left over. My recipe is here – make sure you add the smoked hot paprika and […]


Leave a Reply

