Tarts and Tarts Part 3: Super Sexy Roasted Beet and Fig Tart

This tart is the supermodel of the bunch, it`s all style and substance and was deemed the sleeper.

I used this recipe as my base with some changes.  I don`t like dried figs, which this called for, so I just roasted my own.

20110925-055006.jpg

What I used:
1 pint or about 14 fresh figs
Honey
A sprig of Rosemary – I just cut some off  of my plant on the balcony
Olive Oil
Pepper

bunches of baby beets, 1 yellow, 1 red + 1 medium regular beet
Olive Oil
Sea Salt, Pepper

1 pate brisee/crust
Approx 4 oz Boucheron or other decent Goat Cheese
Mint
1/3 Cup Aged Balsamic Vinegar

What I did:

Roast the figs. Slice them up and arrange in a single layer in a baking dish.  I did not line it with foil for some reason. Add the rosemary, no need to chop it, just pull the leaves off and scatter over the figs. Drizzle with olive oil and about a teaspoon or so of honey. I just dunked my table knife in the jar and drizzled from it twice:

20110924-044517.jpg

Roast in a 400 degree oven for 20 min until caramelized.

20110924-044652.jpg

Roast the beets at the same time or in advance.  I did the baby ones in advance but did not think it was enough, so I roasted to the single one at the same time as the figs.  Wear gloves if you don`t want to stain your hands and peel the beet with a pairing knife then chop into a small dice.  put on a foil lined baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper.  Roast at 400 degrees for 30 minutes or until you can pierce it with a fork.

Roll out your dough into a 12-14 inch round or oval shape on a piece of parchment.  Layer the figs on it. Put the beets on it. cut 2 1/2 inch slices of the boucheron and break it up all over the top.  You left 2 inches of naked dough around the border, right? Good, so fold the sides up all around like a purse:

20110924-044810.jpg

Stick in the oven onto a baking sheet parchment and all.  Use a pizza peel to get it in and out of the oven if you have one, it`s easier.  Bake it for 30 min at 400 degrees until it is golden.

20110924-044955.jpg

That could be all, but it`s not.  I made this in advance by a few hour and stuck it back in a 250 oven to warm.  While it was warming, bake the glaze by putting the 1/3 cup of balsamic in a saucepan, preferably one with a pour spout.  Heat it on medium until it is to a simmer and then turn it down until it reduces by a third.  This took about 20 minutes.

Snip a small handful of mint from the balcony garden, or wherever you get yours and gather into a roll.  Take a scissors to it and snip over the tart.

If you are using a pour-spout saucepan, you can just drizzle the reduction over the top of the tart by pan.  That is what I did.  It is rather thick, so I just got a running start by tilting the pan back and forth over the tart a few times like I was pouring, but did not actually have the pan in pour position, if that makes sense.  Then I just poured it over with quick movements back and forth and around the plate so it looked pretty.  I suppose you could use a spoon to do this too.  I am pouring in this pic while the husband photographed, I`m not in the frame though, but explains the odd angle:

20110925-054953.jpg
Since it is plated, slice it.

Eat it.

20110925-055006.jpg

Leave a Reply

