Roasted Squash with Sorta Indian Sorta Mediterranean Basmati Rice

I’ve been eating a bit more cheese and wheat than I need to so I decided to revisit this Jamie Oliver stuffed squash. But made some changes. The last time I made it, last winter, I made it by recipe and the rice did not cook as stated, with no water. I was skeptical. But tried. It was good though. Once I got it to cook. It was also kinda futzy.

I wanted a stuffed squash and needed to go to the gym so this worked well by making it separate and roasting the squash while at the gym.

20111012-111834.jpg

What I used:
1 Butternut Squash
Olive Oil
Sea Salt
Pepper
Several Sprigs Thyme. Whole
2 Large Garlic Cloves

1 Small Leek
1 Large Garlic Clove
Approx 1 teaspoon Whole Coriander Seed
Approx 1 Teaspoon Crushed Red Pepper
Approx a teaspoon or so of Olive Oil
Handful of Dried Mushrooms, I used Porcini
1 Cup Hot Water
5 Sundried Tomatoes, not packed in oil
1 cup Basmati Rice
1 cup Water
Some Fresh Rosemary

What I did:
Turn the oven to 275. Cut the squash in half lengthwise and scoop the seeds. On a baking sheet lined with foil so you don’t have to clean it, lay the squash upright and rub with some olive oil. Salt and pepper it. Where the seeds once were, stick in a clove of garlic on each side and stuff the interior with the thyme sprigs.

20111012-104228.jpg

Carefully flip over keeping the garlic and such in, so the garlic roasts up all soft. I also threw some brussel sprouts on the sheet with some oil and salt and pepper because I had them and they needed to be cooked. The husband had some and I put the rest away for later.

20111012-104813.jpg

Set the timer for 2 hours and go to the gym. Mines across the street and this took all of 5 min to get ready prior to going. I knew it would not really take 2 hours, but wanted to set the timer for longer than I’d be gone. Alternately you can just roast at 375 for a half hour or so – it will be done when the rice is.

There was 33 min left on the timer when I got home. I checked the squash and brussels. It all was close to done and I started the rice.

Chop the leeks and garlic. Heat a 3 qt pan Take a mortar to the coriander and grind it. Add the coriander and crushed red pepper to the pan and dry roast while you soak the mushrooms in a cup of hot water. I just do it in a measuring cup to save a dish. Add some oil to the pan of spices and then the leeks and garlic. Chop up the tomatoes and add to the pan. Add the mushrooms and liquid. Salt and pepper it. Add the rice and another cup of water. Bring to a boil, cover then turn heat to low cover and cook as you would rice for 15 min.

Take squash out of oven and set aside. Or turn oven to warm or oven off and leave it in to keep warm or whatever. I took mine out.

20111012-111457.jpg

Rice is done. Add the rosemary leaves. Chop them or just rip the leaves in, you know I just did the latter.

20111012-111636.jpg

Plate it. Think about the fact that it is as the Dandy Warhols say “VEGAN FOOD!!!”

Eat it.

20111012-111834.jpg

One Comment on “Roasted Squash with Sorta Indian Sorta Mediterranean Basmati Rice”

  1. […] Roasted Squash with Sorta Indian Sorta Mediterranean Basmati Rice (frshforce.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

