Roasted Butternut Squash with Lentils and Wild Rice

After yesterday’s pasta feast, I’m back to another gluten-free, dairy-free delight. I admit, I totes made this on the fly based on several other things I make and threw in the lentils.

It’s great for make ahead. I prepped everything and stuck it in the oven and went to the gym. When I came back it was done. On the other hand, wild rice takes a while to cook-90 min to 2 hours, but this will hold up if you want to make it in advance.

It’s healthy, low-fat, and not very photogenic, but it tastes really good. try it.

20111018-101535.jpg

What I used:
Half a large onion
2 shallots
2 large garlic cloves
1 stalk celery, leaves and all
3 Sundried tomatoes, not oil packed
A small handful of dried mushrooms soaked in a measuring cup of hot water. Use a cup of water.
1 cup wild rice, I order mine from these people in Superior, WI.  It is real wild rice indigenous to the area, not cultivated like the California varieties which have an chewier tough texture and never really puff up.   This cheaper California variety is often used in those rice blends for the texture reason.  The good stuff is harvested old school style and worth getting and my peeps sell it without the markup you will find at a specialty foods store. I think they think I’m nutz for ordering it to be Fedex’d to NYC, but but they know who I am and it is supporting real local agriculture. I highly recommend getting your hands on some, you can buy the broken pieces to save on price, it tastes the same.
1 1/3 cup water or 1 cup water, remainder red wine. I did the latter.
Olive oil
Sea salt
Pepper
Fresh Thyme

1 butternut squash
2 large garlic cloves
Fresh thyme sprigs
Olive oil
Sea salt
Pepper

1 can lentils. I used westbrae organic. Next time I’ll use dried puy lentils and cook, but I wanted to keep it separate from the rice in case it did not work as a dish together. Luckily it did and I still have another squash and a ton of leftover wild rice. You could just adjust the water and cook it all together if you want.

Fresh parsley for garnish an flavor.

What I did:
Fine dice the shallots, onion, celery. Mince the garlic. Heat a stove and ovensafe 2 or 3 qt cooking vessel. I used my small French/Dutch oven. Add about a teaspoon or so of olive oil and the veg. Sweat it. While sweating, strip the leaves off some thyme sprigs into the pan.

20111018-110640.jpg

Chop the Sundried tomato and add it along with the soaked mushrooms. The veg should be soft at this point. Take it off the heat.

Halve the squash and pull out the seeds. Rub it with olive oil, sea salt, and pepper. Put a clove of garlic and the whole thyme in the cavities.
20111018-111036.jpg

Put it cavity side down on a foil lined baking sheet. Foil so you don’t have to clean it up.

Add the rice and liquid to the pan:

20111019-104057.jpg

Cover it. You can use foil if you don’t have a lid, and stick it in a 350 degree oven for 90 min. Stick the squash in too.

I did a short session and got back with 19 min left. The squash was done so I pulled it out. I checked the rice and it had not soaked up the liquid yet which is fine and stuck it back in. If it is dry but not fully cooked, add about a quarter cup water.

Timers up now. Rice still needed another 5 or 10 min and I tasted it for salt and pepper. I added more as it was needed, yours may not. I err on the side of not enough  salt at first as it is easier to add later.

Heat the lentils. I just rinsed them in hot water and microwaved for a minute. You could stove heat. Salt and pepper them.

Rice timer’s off again and it is done. Take it out.

Plate the lentils, then the wild rice mix, then try to be artful with the squash. I failed. Snip some fresh parsley over the top

Eat it.

20111019-123917.jpg

20111019-123935.jpg

2 Comments on “Roasted Butternut Squash with Lentils and Wild Rice”

  1. […] I had leftover wild rice mix from the other day, and the remainder of the creamy mushrooms, it seemed a perfect match. Try it […]

  2. […] cup dry wild rice, please, just buy the real kind, not California cultivated. You will thank me. Amount of liquid it says to cook it. 3 cups water in my […]


Leave a Reply

