Mushroom Eggs Florentine

ZOMG! Seriously. Make this. This has been on my deck for a while now. I had something similar in Buenos Aires in August that I wanted to recreate. I really really like trying to recreate food had while traveling. While I will never ever attempt or try or claim my Arzak items, I’ve been pretty ace with spanish tapas and Spanish Moroccan food, particularly stuff had in Madrid. I think that is why I like going there so much. It always leaves me with something or two to recreate at home.

Anyhoo, so I wanted to make this starter dish I had at Demuru. It really was all I could eat even though it was a starter and I left my main virtually untouched. It was all creamy mushroomy goodness with an egg baked and poached inside. I can make that!

But first I needed individual baking dishes. That was harder than it sounds. I just wanted nice ones that were not fugly. And then what size? 6 oz, 8 oz, gah. I no know! I settled on these from Crate and Barrel . They were well priced and at least white. Then I just put off making for fear I’d do wrong. Dumb.

So yeah, I finally made it and it was super. This would also be a great easy starter for a dinner party done in small ramekins with one egg. It looks fancy, but is way easy.

20111020-123149.jpg

what I used:
1 lb shiitake mushrooms. Yes, these are a staple for me.
1 leek
3 cloves garlic
1 box/bag washed baby spinach. Mine was 5oz
Olive oil
Crushed red pepper
Smoked paprika
Sea salt
Pepper

12 oz whole milk. I used this amount cuz I bought the single serve and that is the size
Manchego cheese. Like 1/4 cup shredded
Parmigiano-reggiano cheese, a couple tablespoons

4 eggs

4 slices of ciabatta bread or something similar. I used a rosemary ciabatta.

What I did:

Chop the mushrooms and garlic. A rough chop is fine on the mushrooms and mince the garlic. I already had my leeks chopped from the other day, but clean and slice yours if you have not.

Heat a tablespoon of oil or so in a 3 qt saucepan along with a teaspoon of crushed red pepper on medium. Add the veg and sweat on med-low for 5-7 min until it is cooked and shrunk. Add a couple dashes of smoked hot paprika, a pinch of salt and some pepper.

20111020-124705.jpg

When it is cooked down, add the spinach.
20111020-125047.jpg

Cook that down for another 5 min or so until it is completely wilted and most of the water is cooked off.

20111020-125257.jpg

Add the milk and the manchego. I just shredded the cheese into the pan, it may have been a 1/3 cup not a 1/4.

20111020-125454.jpg

Stir in to melt and cook on low for another 5-10 min. Keep an eye on it so it does not burn.

Slice your bread and put in the oven at 350.

Sauce is slightly thickened but still fairly loose. It is not going to get real thick here.

20111020-125741.jpg

Stir in a tablespoon or 2 of parm and ladle the mixture into ovenproof bowls. I used a cup and a half per person approx.

20111020-125947.jpg.

Crack 2 eggs into a bowl or measure cup and pour over the top of the bowl of mushroom mix and repeat. I made 2 from this and had another serving leftover which I think I will use for a wild rice frittata using my leftover rice from yesterday.

20111020-010257.jpg

20111020-010314.jpg

Put this on a baking sheet so it does not boil over and stick in the oven for 7 min at 350. Turn over your bread prior to sticking it in the oven and just use the bread pan and slide the bread to the side. See pic.

After 7 min pull out the bread if toasted and sprinkle a spoon of parm over the eggs. Put back in oven for another 7-10 min.

I did 10 cuz it is hard to tell if eggs are done so I broiled for yet another 2 min. Don’t do this unless you don’t mind hard eggs. I like hard eggs but really wanted then to be soft and burst. They looked like they were.
20111020-010759.jpg

I could lie and say that they were poached soft, but I won’t. I cooked them hard by broiling but you can’t tell from the pic and it still tasted phenomenal. I also am a fan of the hard yolk as well as the soft. In fact, soft poached eggs were vile to me until 2 years ago. I think it was backlash against my mom who insisted on the soft egg. She still eats a soft boiled egg every day for breakfast. Serious.

Anyhoo, the sauce will thicken in the oven. Pull it out cuz it’s done.

20111020-011315.jpg

Plate it by sticking the oven bowl on a plate and have with the bread and a salad.

Eat it.

20111020-011437.jpg

2 Comments on “Mushroom Eggs Florentine”

  1. […] I had leftover wild rice mix from the other day, and the remainder of the creamy mushrooms, it seemed a perfect match. Try it with the wild rice. It is a super health […]

  2. […] Mushroom Eggs Florentine (frshforce.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

