Healthy Tuna Casserole – No Cans

I happened upon this last winter. I’m not sure I was looking for it, but when I found it, it sounded pretty ace.  I had forgotten about tuna casserole! I made some changes, and this has no cans of cream of crap soup.

It’s not gonna change your life, unless you have never had a Hot Dish, but this is good, easy, and comfort food. Try it.

20111024-092048.jpg

What I used:
3 stalks celery, leaves and all
2 huge cloves garlic
1 leek
8 oz crimini mushrooms
1 tablespoon butter
3 tablespoons flour
A shot of white wine or sherry
1 cup skim milk
1 3/4 cup veg stock
2 5oz cans water pack tuna. I used the low mercury kind and realized when I pulled it out that they were 7 oz, not 5 oz cans and it was a bit too much. Use the 5oz cans or just 1 7oz can.  Just sayin`
4 oz shredded cheddar
About a cup of fresh shelled peas, frozen will work.
Pepper
Sea salt
Breadcrumbs, I mix mine with dried mushrooms in and food process a batch and keep it in the freezer.
Grated parm
Olive oil

8 oz of short pasta, I used fusilli, Parcooked a bit more than halfway. I cooked mine for 5 min and the package called for 9-11 min.

What I did:

Melt the butter in a large ovensafe pan. Chop all the veg Sweat the leeks, garlic, mushrooms and celery until soft, about 10 min.  Add pepper.

That`s steamy!

20111024-091611.jpg

Make a well in the center and add the flour. You are making a roux. Cook it stirring constantly for 3 min or so. It may stick to the pan, it’s ok cuz you are going to deglaze it with the wine.

20111024-091705.jpg

So deglaze with the wine. Add the Broth and milk and bring to a simmer. Cook for about 5-7 min until thicker. I did my pasta while this was cooking.

20111024-091727.jpg

Add the Cheese and melt it. Add the tuna and break it up. Salt and pepper it to taste. Add the pasta and peas. If you like your peas pretty soft, add them with the liquid.  I don`t so I add later, like now.

20111024-091857.jpg

Top it with a handful of breadcrumbs, a sprinkle of parm and a drizzle of olive oil.

Bake for 30 min at 375.

Make a salad

Timers up If the top isn’t crispy broil it for a few.
I had to broil.

20111024-091941.jpg

Plate it

Eat it.

20111024-092037.jpg

20111024-092048.jpg

Leave a Reply

