Black Bean Soup with Bonus Green Chile Cornbread

I think I am getting a cold. If I do I am screwed. The husband has a cold and I am trying to stave off mine since my event is on Wednesday and I don`t have time to be sick. I was able to at least finally get my table seating done for the event. It takes forever to seat 300 guests and block it out keeping mindful that one wrong table could cost me donations during the live pledge.

So yesterday I finally had to break down and go in to grab a dress. The six dresses that I had shipped from Shopbop.com just all were fails. Note to Diane Von Furstenberg, your quality is in the can for Fall 2011. So while getting my hair did, I trolled Barney`s Coop online, and while it was snow/slushing(?!?!), I figured, at least the soho store would be empty, so armed with the knowledge that there were 10 promising items on their website, I broke down and went in. Yes, it was empty, though would it kill them to stock a size 6 at the soho store? I`m 5`9, that is not a complete fatty, jeez. I walked out with one dress and waiting for another that was at the Chelsea location to be fedexed over to me. Why that can`t messenger it, I have no clue.

So I have a seating chart done, a dress, my nails are now did and I am trying not to get a cold. Time to make a black bean soup. This one`s kinda spicy cuz I like spicy and I`m hoping to kill the germs.

20111030-213501.jpg

What I Used:

16 oz Dry Black Beans

Water to cover

6 large Garlic Cloves

1 Huge Onion

2 Red Peppers

1 Carrot

1 Stalk Celery

1 28 oz Can Diced Tomatoes, undrained. As always, I used the Muir Glen Fire Roasted

1 Qt Vegetable Broth

About a Cup of Red Wine

A couple tablespoons, more or less depending on so you like it spiced, of the Adobo Sauce from a can of Chipotle Chiles

Olive Oil

Cumin

Chili Powder

Smoked Hot Paprika

2 Bay Leaves

Fresh or dried Oregano, I used fresh as it is still growing on the balcony garden.

Pepper

Sea Salt

Cilantro

Juice of a Lime

Yogurt or Sour Cream

What I Did:

Rinse the beans and put into whatever you are going to cook your soup in, I used my 7 qt French/Dutch oven that I always use. Cover with hot as you get it from the tap water a couple inches over the beans. Bring to a boil for 2 minutes, then turn off the heat and cover for an hour or so. I just did it for as long as I was at the gym. Drain the beans and liquid.

Dice up all the veg. Drink a glass of wine while doing this.

20111030-210152.jpg

Heat up your pot and add a tablespoon of the cumin to the dry pan. Just let it heat up in there and toast a bit. Add about a tablespoon of olive oil and all the chopped veg. Sweat it on medium-low heat for about 10 minutes until cooked. You can add about a tablespoon of paprika and chili powder to the pan, a pinch of salt, black pepper and the bay leaves while it is sweating.

20111030-210210.jpg

Once it is cooked down, add the beans, tomatoes, wine and veg broth, chipotle adobo sauce, and oregano. Bring to a boil and turn to a simmer for like an hour. Taste it and add more cumin if you want. I did.

I check on mine like every 20 m1n and stir it, because that`s how I roll.

Make Some Cornbread

What I used:

1 1/4 Cups AP Flour

3/4 Cup Cornmeal

2 Teaspoons Baking Powder

1 teaspoon Sugar

1 Teaspoon Salt

1 small Can Green Chiles

1 15oz can Corn, drained

1 Egg

1 Cup Skim Milk

1/4 Cup fat – I used 1/2 butter, 1/2 olive oil

What I did:

Put the dry stuff in a bowl. Put the milk in a bowl, whisk in the egg til it is beaten. Add it to the dry stuff and mix it up. I microwaved my butter to melt and realized it was`t 1/4 cup and just added olive oil til it measured 1/4 cup. Add that and mix it around. Add the chiles and corn. Pour the cornbread batter into a greased 8 inch pan and cook in a 400 degree oven for 30-35 min. Poke a knife in the center of it to check. If it comes out clean, then it is done.

Timer`s up. Check the Soup.

20111030-210237.jpg

Mine`s thinner than I wanted, more like a chili, so I took the immersion blender to it.

20111030-210245.jpg

Mix a couple of table spoons of yogurt or sour cream with some cumin for a garnish. Chop some cilantro.

20111030-210253.jpg

Cornbread is done.

20111030-213439.jpg

Soup is done, taste it for seasoning and add the juice of 1/2 a lime.

Plate it

Eat it.

20111030-213448.jpg

20111030-213501.jpg

Leave a Reply

