Roasted Monkfish with Olive Tapenade and Arugula-Garlic Mash

I am in the midst of cleaning out the fridge prior to vacation. Currently I am caramelizing onions since I accidentally bought a ton for an onion soup I changed my mind on making last Sunday, but these I can freeze. Since I had all the ends and I needed it, I am also making veg stock with all my veg remnants that I have been collecting in the freezer. I really should have roasted the veg for the stock, but got lazy, it will work anyway.

I am skipping the soup this week to minimize leftover food and found this recipe for monkfish on Jamie Oliver and decided to try, since monkfish was on sale at Fresh Direct this week. This was really nice, super fresh and Mediterranean tasting. Don`t omit the celery in the tapenade, it adds a really nice texture, but does not taste like celery. The tapenade is going to become a new staple, I can think of a bunch of things to do with it and it will keep in the fridge.

20111113-231814.jpg

20111113-231806.jpg

(my plating was a bit of a fail)

What I used:

8oz Monkfish Fillet – for 2 portions, Cod would also work.

Zest of 1 Lemon and the juice of half

4 Inch Sprig of Rosemary

Pinch of Salt

Half a Celery Stalk with the Leaves

2 Cloves Garlic

About 10-12 Large Olives, I used half Kalamata and half Green Cerignolas. Do a mix of green and black, it makes a difference, Picholine olives would work if you don`t have Cerignolas.

A Small Handful of Flat Leaf Parsley and some Basil Leaves. I had maybe 6-8 small Basil leaves left on my balcony plant and used that up.

Approx. 1 Teaspoon Crushed Red Pepper

Approx. 1 Teaspoon Black Pepper

Juice of Half a Lemon

A tablespoon or 2 of Extra Virgin Olive Oil for raw use

—-

2lbs small potatoes, I used a mix of red, yellow and purple. I also am making extra to bring for lunch later

1 box/bag Washed Baby Arugula – mine is 5oz

10 or so Cloves Garlic

Olive oil

What I did:

I was lazy with the camera today, but make the fish marinade. In a mortar, zest the lemon, add the salt, the leaves of 3/4 of the rosemary and the lemon juice. Mash with a pestle.

Pat Dry the fish and rub the marinade all over it. Cover with cling and set aside for an hour, or less I guess.

20111113-232003.jpg

Roast the Garlic – take the 8 cloves put on a piece of foil and drizzle with olive oil. wrap it up and put in a 425 degree oven for 20 min.

Super fine mince the celery, 2 cloves garlic, and herbs. Pit and finely chop the olives. Add the crushed red and black pepper, and the lemon juice and olive oil. Stir and taste it. Mine was good and needed no additional acid or oil. Set aside.

20111113-232025.jpg

Check the garlic, mines not soft yet so I put back for another 10 min.

Quarter the potatoes and boil until done. Like 8 min. Drain and set aside. No need to take the skins off, nutrients and all.

I know the recipe calls for making an arugula salad, but I like to sauté it and mash into the potatoes, so this is what I did.

In the same pan that you boiled the potatoes, add a small amount of olive oil. Add all the arugula. It will look like a lot, but will wilt down.

20111113-232015.jpg

My garlic`s done – take it out and leave the oven on.

20111113-231903.jpg

Start the fish. In an oven and stove top safe pan, heat about a teaspoon of olive oil. When the pan is hot, add the marinated fish. Cook on medium for 3 minutes. Flip and transfer to the 425 degree oven for 8 minutes.

20111113-231919.jpg

Check on the arugula, it`s wilted down.

20111113-231848.jpg

Add the roasted garlic, juice of half a lemon, and the drained potatoes.

20111113-231840.jpg

While the flame is on low, mash the potatoes with a hand masher. Yes, the arugula will catch in the masher, but just scrape with a fork every few to unclog. Add sea salt and pepper and some more oil if needed. Mine did not need the oil.

Timer`s up on the fish. Mine was rather thick and felt raw when I stuck a fork in. I put back in for 6 minutes.

The potatoes are mashed to my liking, cover and wait on the fish.

20111113-231832.jpg

Timer is up and I checked the fish. It`s done – meaning when I stuck a fork in there was no resistance.

20111113-231856.jpg

Cut the fish in 2 pieces, plate it with the potatoes and the tapenade.

Plated it.

Eat it.

20111113-231748.jpg

 

20111113-231806.jpg

20111113-231814.jpg

 

(more plating fail, I could not decide which picture looked better.)

Leave a Reply

