Vegetable Pasta Bake

I made it my mission today to clean out the fridge of all perishables prior to vacay. I made a new on deck and emailed it to myself with a new plan:

Things on hand:
1 bunch spinach + 3 mixed salads
1 bunch asparagus
Crimini + Shiitake mushrooms
2 pint containers grape tomatoes
2 yellow summer squash
Brussel sprouts

Monday: Mushrooms – use up – saute with the onions, garlic tomatoes,
spinach and squash – use up remainder 1/2 package of
pasta and bake with some parm and whatever cheese – manchego?
cambezola? until done. serve with a salad.

Tuesday – Roast the brussel sprouts along with the asparagus and half
the tomatoes + garlic. Roast all veg on Monday
Put the tomatoes/asparagus on polenta. Eat with a salad

Wednesday: Roast acorn squash and add the leftover tagine. Eat with a salad

Thursday: eat brussel spouts with leftover pad thai that I made Saturday and grilled cheese sandwiches (there is only enough pad thai for 1)

Friday: grilled cheese sandwiches for lunch.

Yes, I am aware this list and the combos are perhaps bizarre. But it will work.

20111114-233119.jpg

20111114-233104.jpg

So I made the pasta bake today and roasted all the veg.

20111114-233205.jpg

Contents of My Fridge Above

What I used:

1 bunch spinach + 3 mixed salads
1 Large Onion – I chopped this yesterday and put in the fridge

2 8oz pkgs crimini + 1lb shiitake mushrooms

1.5 pint containers grape tomatoes
2 yellow summer squash

6 Large Garlic Cloves

1 Tablespoon tomato paste – the kind from the squeeze tube

1 tablespoon Spinach Pesto

8 oz short pasta, I used spirals that I had remaining from something else I made

Crushed red pepper, black pepper, sea salt, smoked hot paprika

Olive oil

about 3 oz manchego

Breadcrumbs if you have them.

Other stuff I roasted:

2 pints brussel sprouts

Salt, pepper, olive oil

1 bunch aparagus

1/2 pint grape tomatoes

5 large garlic cloves

Sea salt, crushed red pepper, pepper, smoked paprika, olive oil

What I did:

Prep the brussel sprouts and stick in the oven set to 400 degrees

Fine dice the summer squash, mince the garlic, chop the mushrooms. It’s a lot of squash so you want to fine dice it so it does not overwhelm.  Add the squash and onion that I pre-chopped the day prior to a large vessel, one that you can stick in the oven would be perfect. I used the 7qt dutch/french oven I often use. Sweat it and add the garlic and mushrooms, along with the pepper, crushed red pepper. Quarter the tomatoes and add once the mushrooms are cooked down. Say after 10 min. Add some smoked paprika. This will be wet.

20111114-233157.jpg

Keep the heat on med and add the spinach and pesto. Cook for another 10 min.

My brussel sprouts were close to done.

Salt the veg and let it cook for another 10 min.

Meanwhile I trimmed and halved the remaining grape tomatoes.

Put a pot of water on to boil for the pasta.

Shred the manchego cheese – mine amounted to about 1/3 cup.

Brussel spouts are done. Put away in a container and put the asparagus, tomatoes and remaining garlic on the baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Add some smoked paprika and crushed red pepper to the tomatoes/garlic. I keep those on one side of the pan and the asparagus on the other. Stick in the oven for 20 min.

Pasta is boiling. Cook it for half the time – mine I did for 4 min. Drain and add the pasta + cheese to the pot and stir. Add a few pinches of sea salt until it tastes right. Sprinkle with the breadcrumbs and some parmigiano-reggiano cheese and a drizzle of olive oil. Stick in the 400 degree oven for 30 min.

Check on the asparagus and tomatoes. Mine needed another 10 min. Make a simple salad.

Tomatoes and asparagus are done. Take out and put in a container to use later.

20111114-233144.jpg

Timer is up on the pasta bake and it is golden and crispy. On my way to clearing everything out, though now we  have so many things cooked + leftover pasta bake, we won`t need the grilled cheese sandwiches. If only I could get the husband to take lunch to work. I failed to mention there is his ham in the fridge, hence that deep rooted need to make grilled cheese sandwiches, I want him to use up his ham on those!

Plate it.

Eat it

20111114-233104.jpg

20111114-233127.jpg

One Comment on “Vegetable Pasta Bake”

  1. Looks great – I adore pasta bakes, so simple yet so tasty!


Leave a Reply

