Polenta with Tomatoes and Artichokes and Some Random

I am playing catch up this week. Lots of catch up. Worse, I am getting a cold again. For realz this time. But I have a 9-6 event tomorrow so no time for that. The problem with vacations, for me at least, is that I am so used to not eating prepared foods at this point that my immune system goes haywire from the germs or something and I get a cold. That and vacation from work just means more work to catch up to.

I still have some Barcelona posts to catch up on too but here are some things I made this week and I have an On Deck ready for tomorrow. But crap, I will be out of the office all day tomorrow so it may not get posted til Saturday. And I have not gotten to the gym this week. Saturday. *sigh*

20111201-220352.jpg

This is nothing new for the most part from my other polentas posted here so I didn’t take pics. I was not cooking anything new this week.

What I used:
3 huge garlic cloves, crushed and chopped
1 pint grape tomatoes diced
12 oz artichoke hearts
Fresh oregano
Crushed red pepper
Smoked hot paprika
Sea salt
Pepper
Olive oil
Red wine

1 cup dry polenta
3 cups veg stock, or however much your polenta says to use. I used the stock I made and froze a couple weeks ago.
2 oz or so of strong goat cheese. I used a local Cuppola.

What I Did:
Heat a pan to sauté the veg. Add some crushed red pepper to the dry pan to toast it for a few min. Add about a tablespoon of olive oil. Add the tomatoes and garlic. Add about a table spoon of smoked paprika, some sea salt and pepper. Cook on med low for approx 10 min.

Start the stock for the polenta. I use the De Lo Estacia brand that only takes 5 min to cook so this is speedy and it is not an overprocessed “quick-cook product”

Add the artichoke hearts to the tomatoes. I used a tinned variety not in oil and took a scissors to them to rough chop in the colander after draining. Cook this for another 5 min or so until the pan is dry. Deglaze the pan with about a 1/3 cup of red wine.

Stock is boiling. Add the polenta and whisk for a few min until done. Add in the cheese.

Everything is done. Add some oregano leaves to the plating

Plate it.

Eat it.

20111201-221821.jpg

Bonus pic.
I made another wild rice Fritatta yesterday. The recipe is on the site a few weeks back but I am too lazy to link at the moment. This time I added some sautéed spinach and Sundried tomatoes and crimini mushrooms.

20111201-222053.jpg

Leave a Reply

