Caramelized Onion, Spinach and Potato Spanish Tortilla

I had this super amazing caramelized onion tortilla in Madrid at Juana la Loca a couple years ago and had to recreate it. My first attempt was a fail. It tasted good, but I had never caramelized onions before and did not realize how much they would shrink. The original recipe is all caramelized onion bound by a bit of egg. I only used 2 onions. Ok, so it was more of a tortilla with caramelized onions instead of a caramelized onion tortilla. It was still good and it was my first time at the caramelized onion rodeo, and luckily I had done a test run fail prior to making it right for my big recreation of Madrid tapas at a subsequent dinner party I had planned. To get this right, you need at least 1 1-1/2 onion per egg. At least.

Fast forward 2 years and caramelized onions are a sorta pantry staple. You can make a whole mess of them when you have a couple hours and freeze them. Use them in this, make a fast soup, pizza, a tart – wherever – they are that good.

This tortilla is not a recreate, it is a riff. I decided to add a bit more veg – spinach and potato – and some cheese. I also did not flip it nor did I mix it all together like a traditional tortilla, for the Juana la Loca version, I did mix all together.  Anyhoo.  Feel free to leave the cheese out if you want it dairy free.

20111213-222032.jpg

20111213-222042.jpg

What I Used:

About 5 Onions Caramelized – I say about because I had caramelized 6 of them earlier and pulled them out of the freezer to use but had a few left over. My recipe is here – make sure you add the smoked hot paprika and sherry.

20111213-221935.jpg

2 medium Yukon Gold Potatoes, diced. I am lazy and left the skins on. Nutrients and all.

1 package Washed Baby Spinach, mine was 5 oz.

6 Eggs

Sea Salt, Pepper, Smoked Hot Paprika

Approx 1 tablespoon Olive Oil

2-3 oz Manchego (optional)

What I Did:

turn the oven to 375.

Thaw the caramelized onions if needed or make them.

In an oven proof-stove top safe round pan, heat the oil on med low. Add the spinach and wilt it.

20111213-221852.jpg

Make sure your rub it around the sides of the pan to grease it while wilting.

20111213-221909.jpg

Add the cubed potatoes and turn heat to low. Add a pinch of salt and some pepper.

20111213-221716.jpg

Shred the cheese, the husband did this for me. Whisk the eggs with a splash of water, some pepper and salt.

Layer the onions over the potatoes and spinach. Smash it all down and make it like a cake.

20111213-221952.jpg

Yes, I am aware that doing this will make it more of a tortilla pie rather than a traditional tortilla Espanola, but whatevs.  Mix it all together if you wish.

Add most of the cheese to the eggs and pour over the top.

20111213-221918.jpg

20111213-221927.jpg

20111213-222000.jpg

Add more pepper to the top and a sprinkle of the smoked paprika.

Put in the oven and turn the oven up to 400 for 30 min.

Timers up – check it. It is all puffed and getting golden. I stuck a knife in to see if it was done. It was pretty done and knife was clean, eggs set springy.

20111213-222008.jpg

I like my eggs a bit more overcooked so I turned it back down to 375 for 7 min.

You can do the same or skip that and just move on to sprinkling the reserved cheese on the top. Bake another 8 minutes until it is browned.

20111213-222024.jpg

Let it sit for 5-10 min so it will easily come out.  Make a simple salad while you wait.

Plate it.

Eat it.

20111213-222032.jpg

20111213-222052.jpg

Leave a Reply

