Sweet Potato Gnocchi Part 1

Ok, so I am still sick/sick again. I don’t get it – a month of having a cold? Who has that? According to the doctor, apparently everyone. Stupid and there is nothing that can be done. By Sunday I was so wrecked and stuffed up that we didn’t bother to drink the ’93 Reserve Veuve Clicquot that we have been holding and needs to be drank, like now. No point, I prolly could not taste it anyhow. Yesterday we went to a daytime party where I sat kinda dazed and unable to hold conversation for a couple hours before leaving. Then fell asleep sitting upright on the couch.

As an aside, if I had a brain, I would have bought Complete: The Smiths Deluxe Boxset  for myself, or at least asked the husband to get it for me, though I think he would have balked at the price and the fact that we have no more room for the vinyl.  I am just staring at the purchase page longingly every so often, then flipping away trying not to pull the trigger, really only because I only really want all the cover art that comes with it, I already most of the other stuff that it comes with.  But I want the cover art and the set and everything. Oh well, who knows what I may do being a compulsive shopper and all.

Back to the point.

I woke up and made the gnocchi with the husband for later in the week to go with roasted brussel sprouts.

20111227-140452.jpg

What I Used:

1.5 lbs Potatoes, I used Yukon Gold

1.25lbs Sweet Potato – I was lucky and 1 was pretty dead on weight-wise. I also used the white variety of sweet potatoes so mine won’t have the orange color that someone who used the orange kind would have.

1 1/3 Cup AP Flour, approx.  I thought of using Type 00 or semolina flour, but didn’t.  Not sure why, but I didn’t.

1/3 Cup Aged Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese, Grated

1 Large Egg

Sea Salt, Pepper

What I did:

This is redic easy.

Preheat the oven to 450.  Poke the potatoes and bake them naked for 40-45 min until they are cooked but the skins are not crispy.  If you have smaller potatoes, this may only take 30-35 min.  My yukons were smaller and I pulled those out early.  Let them cool to handle and peel off the skins.  I just took a pairing knife and scored a circle around and the skins easily came off by hand. You could microwave them to speed up the cooking, but then you have to check them a bunch of times and I was feeling lazy so oven method it was.

Get your ricer out, you have a ricer, right? Yeah me too.  I got it forever ago and never use it because I am not that fussy and concerned with having fluffy mashed potatoes for regular eating. You want fluffy here, so rice them.  You won’t die if you have to hand mash them.

20111227-140452.jpg

Once they are all riced/mushed, let them cool for a bit to room temp, otherwise the egg you are going to use will cook in the potatoes and that won’t really work for dough. Beat an egg in a bowl with some sea salt and pepper.

Make a well in the center of the bowl and all the flour, cheese and egg mixture.

20111227-140503.jpg

Mix it together with a clean hand and a plastic dough scraper until it comes together as a dough.  It will seem at first like you might need another other egg, you don’t, just keep mixing.

20111227-140516.jpg

Turn it out on a floured surface and form it into a log.  It will be slightly sticky.

20111227-140526.jpg

If you are not going to use immediately, like me, wrap it in cling and refrigerate for a day or perhaps 2.

20111227-140534.jpg

I will finish it off tonight with the rolling instructions.  I would guess you could freeze this and thaw for later.  It is easy to make, but why not? Another thought to speed this along would be to just cook the potatoes in the oven a day ahead when you are making something else, though I would think they might get dry? I’m just kinda rambling on this one.

Part 2 to follow.

Adapted from Gourmet.  Though I just realized I read the weight of the sweet potato wrong, it says there 3/4 lb, I used 1 1/4 lb, I also used less flour because it did not need it, so I am not too worried…

One Comment on “Sweet Potato Gnocchi Part 1”


Leave a Reply

