Vegetable Chickpea Bake

I happened upon this chickpea casserole over on thekitchn.com and it looked promising. I`m finally getting around to trying it, though with some modifications. For one, it really had no veg in it and was veering towards kinda unhealthy and higher fat than I would have liked. When I saw it, I knew it definitely needed some spinach and artichoke hearts. Leeks would be good too. I added the former, but not the latter, I added additional shallots instead. I would add some diced red pepper for more color the next time as well. I added breadcrumbs, but this could easily be made gluten-free by wither omitting, or subbing with a gluten free product, like fried onion or shallot on top for crunch, or gluten-free breadcrumb.

20120103-213905.jpg

What I used:

6 Large Shallots

5 Large Cloves Garlic

3 15oz Cans Chickpeas – Rinsed and Drained.

1 Cup Brown rice, pre-cooked. I made mine the day prior while the chili was cooking.

2 meyer or 1 regular lemon – zest and juice. I used the meyer lemons.

1 16oz Can artichoke hearts NOT oil packed, drained and just rough chopped in the colander with a scissors.

1 5oz Package of washed Baby Spinach, chopped. I tried to use it whole, but had to pull it out and chop it to get it mixed, so don`t be lazy like I was initially.

1/2 a large Summer Squash or Zucchini, diced. I used the amount I did not use in the chili, you could use a whole one.

3 Large Eggs

1 6oz container plain yogurt, I used a fat-free one.

1 1/4 Cup Cottage Cheese. I used a fat-free one.

1/2 Cup Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese + 2 tablespoons

Approx 3 Tablespoons of Breadcrumbs. I used wheat bread ones that I made myself in the food processor with bread crusts/remnants and add a handful of dried mushrooms. I just make a large batch and keep in the freezer.

A handful of Flat-leaf Parsley – it refuses to die on the balcony garden, despite it being January already.

A couple 3 inch stalks of Rosemary – again, mine is still growing on the balcony.

Sea Salt, Pepper

What I did:

The husband an I did this together, though it is pretty speedy. He did the wet ingredients, I did the dry and chopping.

Heat the oven to 375 degrees.

Fine dice the shallots and mince the garlic, add to a large bowl along with the rice, chick peas and artichoke hearts. Small dice the summer squash/zucchini if you haven`t and add it. Zest and juice the lemon into the bowl.Salt and pepper it.

20120103-212155.jpg

Chop the spinach and add it. As I said, I added and it was too much to combine, so I pulled it out, chopped, then re-added it.

20120103-212221.jpg

See, too, much – rechopped, better. I left a few whole.

 

20120103-212239.jpg

Beat the eggs. Ad the cottage cheese, 1/2 cup parm, and yogurt and mix together.

20120103-212247.jpg

Chop the herbs and mix into the egg/cheese mixture, or to the other mixture. Whatever.

Combine the wet mixture into the dry and combine well.

20120103-212332.jpg

Lightly oil a large oven-safe pan. This would not fit in a 9×13 baking dish because of the added veg, so I just used my enameled 7qt oval Le Crueset I always use.

Pout the mixture in and spread it out evenly.

20120103-212341.jpg

Sprinkle the breadcrumbs, and the 2 tablespoons of parm over the top and add a drizzle of olive oil. Stick in the oven for 45 min.

20120103-212350.jpg

Make a simple salad or whatever you want.

Timer is up, is it crisp on top? Yes, then pull it out and let sit for 5. If not, stick it back in for 10 min or so until crisp.  I Stuck mine under the broiler.

20120103-213416.jpg

Plate it.

Eat It.

20120103-213818.jpg

20120103-213905.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment on “Vegetable Chickpea Bake”

  1. […] 1/2-2/3 Cups Cooked Brown Rice – I had some leftover from what I made for the chickpea bake. […]


Leave a Reply

