White Bean and Kale Soup

My mom bought me the Martha Stewart Homekeeping Handbook for xmas. It is over 700 pages. Of How-to Clean. A bit much, like the 5 pages on how to wash dishes. But I like it. On that note, we scrubbed all the floors and baseboards yesterday. By hand. It took over 3 hours. It really really blew, but the floors look a billion times better. When we reno`d our apt we redid all the floors and got rid of the horrible parquet that I never want to see again. We chose a hand rubbed tung oiled floor that you can not use like any cleaning product on and have lived in fear of ruining the floors for the past year and 4 months. We don`t wear shoes, vacuum, dry mop, but the city is dirty and it just blows in. Finally I contacted the guy who runs the place that made our floors and was all, isn`t there something? And finally he refers me to use some waterlox product that cost me $15 to have shipped to me. The product cost the same, gah! It worked though and the floors are now sparkly-new again. We also did a bit of rearranging and put down a rug in the dining area. What does this have to do with cooking? Nothing other than this was so tiring and me knees were wrecked from scrubbing on hands and knees for 3 hours straight. Needless to say, cooking went by the wayside and we ordered food.

Tonight, I`m back on track and am making this kale-white bean soup. It would be good with a parm rind cooked in it, but this one is vegan – until I added a sprinkle of parm in the bowl, but I promise it was good without it. Also, this makes a ton, I froze the remainder for later. Skip the crouton for gluten-free.

20120108-215432.jpg

What I Used:

2 Large Carrots

4 Stalks Celery

8 Cloves Garlic

2 Leeks

1 lb Washed and Cut Mixed Kale – yes, a pound. I used the pre-washed and cut kind.

2 15 oz Cans of White Beans, rinsed and drained.

8 Cups/2 quarts Veg Stock

4 3-4 inch Sprigs Rosemary, leaves stripped and chopped

1 Cup or so of White Wine

Approx 1 tablespoon Olive Oil

Sea Salt, Pepper, Crushed Red Pepper

Optional – Bread to make Croutons, Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese for garnish

What I did:

Clean the leeks and chop.  Peel the carrots and dice. Mince or slice the garlic. Chop the celery.

20120108-215147.jpg

Heat a large soup vessel – I used a 7qt enameled dutch oven. Add the oil and let heat for a minute on med-low.  Add the veg and sweat for about 7 minutes.  Season it with sea salt, pepper and about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper while it is sweating.

Add the kale and white wine and wilt the kale.  I had to add mine in 2 batches as it is a lot of kale.  It will wilt down though.

20120108-215209.jpg

When wilted, add the stock and rosemary and simmer on low, covered for about 45 minutes.  Taste it when you add the stock, adjust the salt and pepper if needed.

20120108-215250.jpg

Add the beans and cook for at least 30 more minutes covered.  We were doing laundry and the clothes were in the dryer for 70 minutes, so I let it keep going for that time + the time it took to fold the laundry, put it away and make the bed. It looked like this when I came back.

20120108-215337.jpg

I made some crouton in the oven with some random odds and ends of rosemary ciabatta that was in the freezer.  I also made a simple salad since this just did not have enough greenery in it.  lol.

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120108-215403.jpg

20120108-215432.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

