Puy Lentils with Feta, Almonds and Roast Vegetables

I’m leaving the commentary to a minimum here and just saying make this. ZOMFG make this. Bonus is that it is healthy and other than the feta, complete detox food. Leave out the feta for dairy-free/vegan.  This is aces and going on rotation.

It is super versatile and could be stuffed in squash, portobello mushrooms, or along side a pork roast, if you eat the meat. I don’t, but just saying. I used this as a base and tweaked it to make it. I made it a bit more substantial and added some more flavors I like.

Make it!

20120109-211316.jpg

Look ma! No Picture Fail! Sorta!

What I used:

1 Sweet Potato – I use the white sweet potatoes, so mine are yellow, not orange, use what you like.

1 Lb Asparagus

8 Garlic Cloves

1 Pint Cherry Tomatoes

Approx. 1.5-2 Tablespoons Smoked Hot Paprika

1/2 Cup Dry Puy/French Lentils  + 1.5 cup water, I use these.

5oz Washed Baby Spinach – I used the pre-washed, prepackaged.

1/2-2/3 Cups Cooked Brown Rice – I had some leftover from what I made for the chickpea bake.

1 Handful Smoked Roasted Almonds, about 1/4-1/3 cup- Next time, I will use half the amount smoked and half plain roasted  – the smoked are pretty salty, see notes later. Also, msg much, but they do taste good. Do get a good quality smoked almond, not blue diamond, those are all msg.  You could also sub smoked sea salt for the smoked almonds.  Sorry, long winded.

5 Small Scallions, about a 1/2 cup

1 Handful Flat Leaf Parsley

About 2 oz Quality Feta Cheese.  Mine is local, really firm, and not salty, I really like it.  If I was getting standard feta, I would cut this to about an oz or it will get too salty.  I hate salty feta though, so, grain of salt, I didn`t mean to do that.

Sea Salt, Pepper – Keep a light hand on the salt – it is in the almonds and the feta.

Olive Oil for Cooking

Vinaigrette:

I just used the same as what I use for simple salad – 1 part lemon (meyer lemon here, use whatever) to 1.5 part quality raw use olive oil + pinch of sea salt and some pepper.  Some people like more olive oil to lemon, I don`t.  Start with the 1.5 part and add more to your taste. This will make a whole bunch of simple salads – it should be like a 1 + cups of vinaigrette – you will only use about 2 tablespoons here.

What I did:

Turn on the oven to 350 and line a baking dish with foil – less clean-up.

Dice the sweet potato, skins on – nutrients and all.  Trim and peel the ends of the asparagus.  Just peel the stalks, it takes a second and ensures no stringy asparagus. Peel the garlic if needed – I am lazy and just get the pre-peeled, do what you gotta do.

Put it all on the baking sheet and drizzle with approx. 1 tablespoon olive oil, pepper and a scant pinch of salt.  Like I said, resist the urge to salt it normally, think of the salty almonds.

20120109-211632.jpg

Stick it in the oven for 20 minutes.

Halve the cherry tomatoes. Add them to the potato side of the sheet pan and sprinkle it all with about a tablespoon of the smoked hot paprika.  Stir it and stick back in the oven for 20 min.

Put the lentils in a saucepan and cover with unsalted lukewarm water. Heat on medium to a gentle simmer, turn to low and cook uncovered for about 20 minutes until done.  Stir occasionally and keep at a low simmer.  They will be al dente, not mushy when done.

Meanwhile, fine chop the scallions.

20120109-211619.jpg

In a food processor or the chop attachment bowl for your immersion blender, pulse the almonds to a rough-fine chop. I used the latter, I suppose you could chop by hand.

20120109-211555.jpg

20120109-211543.jpg

Chop the parsley.

Chop up the feta.

20120109-211420.jpg

Lentils are done.  Drain and set aside.

Veg are done, pull out and set aside. The tomatoes will have helped to sauce it a bit.

20120109-211510.jpg

20120109-211457.jpg

In the same pan you cooked the lentils in, add a scant teaspoon olive oil and wilt down the spinach on med-low.  Add some pepper to this and a wee pinch of salt to help it wilt.

20120109-211533.jpg

Once it is wilted, add in the potatoes, tomatoes, garlic and brown rice.  Mix to combine.

20120109-211431.jpg

Add another tablespoon of the smoked paprika, the almonds, and about 2 tablespoons of the vinaigrette to taste.  Add in the feta and correct any seasoning if needed. I made a simple salad and kept the roasted asparagus on  the side.

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120109-211353.jpg

20120109-211345.jpg

Related articles

One Comment on “Puy Lentils with Feta, Almonds and Roast Vegetables”

  1. zestybeandog says:

    Looks so earthy and delicious!


Leave a Reply

