Chicago-Style Pizza

Yeah, no on deck this week. I had a half day on Friday at work and got my hair did, so I skipped it. This was in the email I sent to myself of things to make this week though.

I`m going to be lazy with this. I made it once prior when I was using my facebook to catalog my recipes, and yes, I am going to just cut and paste. The pictures are new though.

This is no health food, so, hit the gym the next day. I got the recipe off The Slice, which linked the exact recipe on thirtyaweek, it is originally from Cooks Illustrated.

20120115-020521.jpg

20120115-022705.jpg

What I Used this time:

Dough:

16.25 oz Tipo 00 Flour

1.5 oz Semolina
1.5 oz Cornmeal (I changed the proportions)
1.5 teaspoon salt
2 tsp sugar (honey is fine if you don’t want to use sugar), I would cut this down further to 1 tsp.
2.25 tsp instant yeast
10 oz room temp water
3tbsp melted butter

Approx 2 Tbsp soft butter to laminate the dough – I used less than recipe calls for, it calls for 4 tablespoons! 4!

Sauce:

2 28oz Cans Fire Roasted tomatoes – 1 Used 1 diced and 1 Crushed, Whole are too wet

Approx 4oz Red Wine

10 Cloves Garlic

1 5oz package Washed Baby Spinach

Approx 1 Tablespoon each Crushed Red Pepper and Spanish Smoked Hot Paprika, Fennel Seeds.

Sea Salt, Pepper

1 Bay Leaf

Pizza Topping:

Use what you want, I used Fresh mozzarella – 1 lb, Diced Onion, Diced Green Pepper, Dry sautéed Crimini Mushrooms, Olives. The Husband had sausage on his.

What I did:

Make the sauce.

Put the crushed red pepper in a dry sauce pan and heat it. Add the tomatoes and wine. With a garlic press, crush all the garlic into the pan. Add all the spices/seasoning and stir in the spinach. It will wilt down. Cook uncovered on low for at least 45 minutes. It will reduce by a quarter and become thick. I cooked mine for about 4 hours and reduced by 1/3.

20120115-003322.jpg

Make the dough:

In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients and stir it with your clean hand for a minute. Add the 3 tablespoons melted butter and the water and combine to a smooth dough. I turned mine onto an unfloured counter to knead it for a couple minutes after it all combined in the bowl. Cover with cling and proof until doubled in a warm place, I used the proofing setting on my oven, for about an hour. Despite all the directions to use a stand mixer or food processor, I really think just doing it by hand is pretty easy and have had bad results with making dough in a machine.

20120115-003201.jpg

Dough is doubled, laminate it. Roll it into a square-ish with a rolling pin and spread the softened butter on top.

20120115-003210.jpg

I just microwaved the butter for 10 seconds to be able to use a brush

20120115-003218.jpg

20120115-003230.jpg

Roll it up like a jelly roll into a log using your dough/bench scraper to help.

20120115-003239.jpg

20120115-003249.jpg

Cut the log in half. Fold each log up in three folds to a squared off ball.

20120115-003258.jpg

20120115-003305.jpg

Let it rest and rise in the refrigerator for another 45 minutes. I wrapped the balls loosely with cling to give it room to rise.

Pre heat the Oven to 425.

Chop up all your toppings while you wait. Cook the sausage if using and the mushrooms.

20120115-003313.jpg

Lube up 2 8-9 inch cake pans. A springform is good if you have one, but not necessary.

Roll out the dough to fit in the pans.

20120115-012045.jpg

Press the dough into the pans, if it shrinks back, just gently pull back up.

Top the pizza starting with the cheese. Make a layer right up on the dough.

20120115-012037.jpg

Then the meat if using, straight to the veg if not.

20120115-012020.jpg

20120115-012001.jpg

Finish with with a good amount of sauce on top. I sprinkle some parm on top, some would say this is blasphemy, I don`t.

20120115-011954.jpg

Pop on the oven for 35 minutes until the crust is golden.

20120115-020535.jpg

20120115-020521.jpg

Plate It.

Eat It.20120115-022656.jpg

20120115-022705.jpg

Bonus – this is a cut and paste of my original recipe:

So this is the Cooks Illustrated recipe. I saw a different one but measurements were not in volume so I skipped. Baking/dough is only done in volume. With a scale. People need to get it together. NB yeast, salt and sugar can be measured in quantity.

I will modify this if/when we make again. It had way too much cornmeal. 2.75 oz to 16.25 oz of reg flour. We used 15.75 oz of tipo 00 flour (it is lighter than AP flour and you don’t want an MF bread bowl!!! Just get some Italian flour – you can get it shipped to you from amazon.com if you are lazy like me, search “tipo 00 flour), .5 oz of semolina. Yes random. I would switch it to 14 oz tipo 00, 4 oz semolina and remainder cornmeal. Maybe a bit less even on the cornmeal.
There was also butter, water salt and yeast. I can’t remember the proportions at the moment and will so back and add. Alls I know is that yet again we were burned by the mf machine. I keep seeing to make dough in the food processor and it is a big mess and waste! We still end up having to fix it by hand and it is just better to do it all by hand. Besides, there is some exercise involved in the kneading.

Anyhoo. You proof the dough for 45 the laminate the dough. Yeah I laminated dough. Then you cold rise it for another 45 and roll it out into the pans. I used a cake pan here…

Here are the proportion in the recipe:
16.25 oz flour – again, just buck up and get the tipo 00
2.75 oz Cornmeal -do not use this much – it becomes too cornbready and sweet.
1.5 teaspoon salt
2 tsp sugar (honey is fine if you don’t want to use sugar)
2.25 tsp instant yeast
10 oz room temp water
3tbsp melted butter

Mix all the dry then add all the wet but making a well in the center of the dry – make a dough out of it then do all the rest of the recipe I laid out.

Anyhoo, made some sauce while all this proofing occurred. It was 2 28 oz cans of crushed tomatoes 1 was muir glen fire roasted. The other was san marzano. Added to sauce pan after sweating an onion, a bunch of garlic, some crushed chili pepper. Added some red wine, hot paprika, oregano, basil and fennel seeds. Oh, salt and pepper. That’s it.

3 Comments on “Chicago-Style Pizza”

  1. Oh my lord, that looks deadly!

  2. bombedpop says:

    It is! And there are lots of leftovers since we have to make 2 so the husband can have the meat on his. It is worth the caloric bomb as a treat.

  3. Wow!! Sounds yummy!!Gonna make this


Leave a Reply

