Baked Sweet Potatoes with Chickpeas, Tomatoes, and Spinach

The husband was sad that he was called out here for coming home late yesterday. But I had wanted to go to the gym earlier – my shows were on! He redeemed today by starting this while I worked late today.

I saw a recipe on thekitchn.com for a coconut curried chickpeas over sweet potatoes (theirs is linked at the end of post). That did not appeal totally. So this is what I came up with, it is sorta Moroccan-Mediteranean in flavor profile, like southern Spain in the cold mountains or something like that.  And while I don’t normally post calories, this whole ginormous plate clocks in at 670. So healthy, low cal, check and check. Oh and it is super speedy, other than baking the potatoes. Super tasty too.

20120124-215952.jpg


What I Used

4 medium small sweet potatoes, I used 2 white and 2 orange. I like the white ones better. Less sweet.
1 5oz package of washed baby spinach
4 garlic cloves
1/2 pint cherry tomatoes
1 15 oz can Chickpeas, drained and rinsed. (I used 2 cans to stretch this and have the remainder left over for lunch this week, 1 is really all that is needed for this)
2 oz Feta Cheese
1 teaspoon Olive Oil
About an ounce of Red Wine
Sea salt, pepper
1 teaspoon each of Cumin and Crushed Red Pepper

What I Did:

Like I said, I had a board meeting tonight that ran until 8. So I had the husband start the potatoes a half hour before I left.

Poke the potatoes all over with a knife and stick in a 350 degree oven for an hour.

I got home 45 minutes in and made the rest. Slice up the garlic and quarter the tomatoes.

20120124-220111.jpg

In a Sauté pan dry heat the cumin and crushed red pepper.  Add the oil and heat it.  Add the tomatoes and garlic and sauté for about 3 minutes.  Salt and pepper it.

Add the wine and the spinach.

20120124-220051.jpg

Saute until wilted, about 2 minutes.

20120124-220043.jpg

Add the chickpeas and heat through, 5-10 minutes.

20120124-220034.jpg

Chop the feta and make a simple salad while heating it through.

Take out the potatoes and half them.  Fluff the center up a bit. Top each potato with a bit of the feta, then the chickpea mixture, then feta.

20120124-220025.jpg

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120124-215945.jpg

Related articles

One Comment on “Baked Sweet Potatoes with Chickpeas, Tomatoes, and Spinach”

  1. […] Baked Sweet Potatoes with Chickpeas, Tomatoes, and Spinach (frshforce.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

