Chilaquiles With Black Beans, Corn, and Salsa Verde

I found this recipe for chilaquiles on Serious Eats, it looked great, but turned out needed some work. The salsa verde was great, though charring it will make it lose it`s green color. That part was all fine, it was the topping which was lacking – it simply was not seasoned and too dry, I managed to fix it on the spot by adding some more veg and seasoning.

This is pretty easy and is a good make ahead meal.

20120129-225737.jpg

What I used:

1 lb Tomatillos, husked and halved

6 Cloves Garlic, peeled

1 Small Onion, peeled and cut into large slices

1 Jalapeno Pepper, halved

1 can Black Beans, rinsed and drained

1 15oz Can Corn, drained well. You could use frozen, but I actually prefer canned corn to frozen, it is crispier. You could also use a fresh ear, but it is not in season

1 3oz Can Green Chiles

1/2-2/3rds of a pint of Cherry Tomatoes, quartered

1/2 Onion, diced

The leaves from a few sprigs Oregano

Cumin, Sea Salt, Crushed Red Pepper, Pepper

1 9oz Bag of Corn Tortilla Chips, or the equivalent in stale corn tortillas shallow fried crisp

Fresh Oregano for garnish

1 Avocado, Sliced

A sprinkling of Pepitas/Pumpkin Seeds for garnish

What I Did:

Make the salsa verde – on a foil lined baking pan put the cut tomatillos, onion, jalapeno, and garlic down.

20120129-225913.jpg

Place in the broiler for 15 minutes until charred. Flip and stick back in for another 7-15 minutes until charred. Some liquid will come out from the tomatillos.

20120129-225905.jpg

Put the charred veg and pan liquid in a food processor until it is pureed and looks like a salsa. You can put it away for later at this point or keep going. I set mine aside and went to the gym.

20120129-225857.jpg

Make the Chilaquiles.

In a dry pan on medium heat, roast the corn for about 6 or 7 minutes. Salt it and add the black beans and diced onion. I also added some crushed red pepper and pepper at this point. Heat the beans through.

In a saucepan, pour in the salsa verde and bring to a simmer. Add the chips in bunches, crushing and coating with the salsa.

20120129-225846.jpg

At this point I tasted the corn/black bean mixture and it was pretty bland and dry, so I added some cumin, oregano, the green chiles, and cut up the tomatoes and added. This was better and texturally was not as dry.

20120129-225837.jpg

I made a simple salad while everything heated through.

It`s ready. Use a sprinkling of pepitas on each plate and avocado slices – I failed in my slicing of the avocados..

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120129-225756.jpg

20120129-225737.jpg

2 Comments on “Chilaquiles With Black Beans, Corn, and Salsa Verde”

  1. emmycooks says:

    Yum, I love chilaquiles! I make a different version that I mean to post soon, with a super-flavorful black bean sauce. I have had so many different versions of chilaquiles and I love them all. 🙂


Leave a Reply

