Shrimp Sandwiches with Chipotle-Avocado Spread

I got this recipe in my inbox from the and it looked pretty fantastic. I made a few changes, but this is pretty easy and leaves me with some leftover to make fajitas later this week. Strike that, I am just eating the sandwiches all week.  They are really that good. This recipe makes like 4.


What I Used:

1 Avocado

Approx 1/2 Cup Mayonaisse

2 Tablespoons of the Adobo from a can of Chipotles

The Juice of 1 Lemon

Sea Salt

1 Lb Exra Large Shrimp, Peeled

3 Cloves Garlic, minced

1 Teaspoon-ish of the Adobo from the Chipotles

Approx 1 teaspoon each of Cumin, Spanish Smoked Hot Paprika.

Approx 1/2 Teaspoon Chili Powder

Sea Salt, Black Pepper, Olive Oil

Splash of Wine, doesn`t matter, red or white.

Sandwich bread – I used a Ciabatta Roll, but baguette would work, or what you like.

Some Sort of Lettuce – I used just some prewashed mesculine salad.

What I Did:

Make the Avocado Spread. I just made it in a storage container since I knew that I`d have leftovers. Put the mayo in the container, add the diced avocado, pinch of salt, adobo, and lemon juice and mash until smooth. I was going to add a clove of garlic, but didn`feel like chopping it or using a food processor to make this, so, yeah.




Cut the bread in half and toast it in the oven for 5-7 minutes at 400 degrees.

Start the shrimp.  In a dry pan add the cumin and heat it on medium.  Add about a teaspoon of olive oil and heat to shimmer.  Add the garlic and cook for about 3 minutes.  Add the shrimp and remaining spices + adobo and saute on medium low until cooked through. Deglaze the pan with some wine when it gets dry.


Assemble the samdwhich by spreading the avocado mix on both halves, add the lettuce then about 8-10 shrimps.



Plate It.

Eat It.



3 Comments on “Shrimp Sandwiches with Chipotle-Avocado Spread”

  1. […] Your Bar Shrimp Sandwiches with Chipotle-Avocado Spread […]

  2. […] Shrimp Sandwiches with Chipotle-Avocado Spread ( […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.