Vegetable Shepherd’s Pie

I`m not so sure about this one. For one, it isn`t speedy, and two, I`m not so sure it warrants the amount of time it takes. But I am typing this part while it is in the oven as I usually do.

So this weekend was Metal Mania on VH1 Old People, I mean Classics, so last night we contemplated going out for dinner, but were waylaid by the Lemmy documentary. I guess if you rent it you can watch 4.5 hours of bonus footage! That`s a lot! Not gonna lie, I am intrigued and am pretty close to getting a hold of this bonus. Then we couldn`t go to bed because the documentary of Anvil was on at 2am. It was a bit sad and like a trainwreck that you just could not turn away from as these guys kept spending money trying to get famous again. Like 25 years later!

What does all this have to do with this shepherd`s pie, I don`t know. Just sayin`.

So luckily the husband helped me with this as it took an hour and a half to prep to begin with, though you can make ahead. I used this recipe, but made some changes, some in advance and some on the fly as it really needed some more seasoning. Ok, so we ate it, the flavors came together and it was major hearty with a ton of leftovers.

20120220-212856.jpg

What I Used:

1.5 lbs Potatoes, I used some buttercream and some small russets as that is what I had.

1 6oz Container Plain Greek Yogurt, I used 0% Fat Chobani

A Splash of Vegetable Stock

Sea Salt

I Lb Shiitake Mushrooms

1 Super Large Carrot

2 Stalks Celery

1 Red Pepper

1 Cup Fresh Shelled Peas

2 Leeks

4 Cloves Garlic

Approx 2 Tbsp Tomato Paste

Approx 2 Tbsp Tamari (I used Gluten Free), you could use regular soy sauce

1 Tbsp of the Adobo from a can of Chipotle Peppers in Adobo

2.5 Cups Veg Stock

The Leaves from 4-5 Stalks of Thyme

Sea Salt, Pepper, Smoked Paprika

2 Tablespoons Cornstarch dissolved in 3/4 Cup of Cold Water

1 Cup Puy (French) Lentils

3 Cups Water

1 Bay Leaf

Olive Oil

Red Wine

What I Did:

Peel and dice the potatoes, add to a 3 qt saucepan of boiling water and cook for 8 minutes or so until tender.  Drain and set aside.  Use the same pan to make the lentils.  Bring the 3 cups of water to a boil with a bay leaf.  Add the lentils and simmer low uncovered for 25 minutes.

Meanwhile prep the veg.  as I said, the husband helped and peeled and diced the carrots.

20120220-212601.jpg

Then the celery and peppers and leeks. You might want to have a glass of wine while doing this.

20120220-212611.jpg

I did the mushrooms and garlic.

20120220-212629.jpg

Start cooking the veg.  Heat a large pan on medium heat, add about a tablespoon of olive oil. Add the mushrooms and garlic, cook until beginning to brown, about 5 minutes.  Add the carrots, celery, leeks, and red pepper.  Continue cooking for about 10 minutes.  The pan will get dry after a few minutes if it was not from the mushrooms, add about an ounce of red wine and deglaze the pan.  Continue cooking for the 10 or so minutes.

20120220-212651.jpg

Make the mashed potatoes while this is cooking.  Use a ricer to pass through potatoes into a bowl.  Add the yogurt and add a splash of veg stock so it is not too dry.  Season to taste with salt.

20120220-212641.jpg

Lentils are done, drain if they have not soaked up all the liquid and discard the bay leaf.  Add to the veg along with the tomato paste, tamari, salt, pepper, thyme and veg stock.  Simmer for a few minutes.

20120220-212723.jpg

Start adding the cornstarch-water mixture by the spoonful until it starts to thicken.  I added about 6-7 spoonfuls.  It is going to be a bit liquidy – this will cook off in the oven.

Now at this point, it was still a bit bland, so I added the adobo and hit it with more red wine.  It was better, so I continued.  Move the veg/lentils to a large ovenproof baking dish and add the raw peas – they will cook in the oven.  I used the 7 qt Le Crueset I always use, I would not use anything smaller than a 3 qt dish.

20120220-212739.jpg

Add the potatoes to the top.  I found it easiest to drop it by the spoonful/hand over the top.  It will seem like not a lot of potato, but they will puff up in the oven.  Sprinkle with smoked hot paprika and stick in a 375 oven for 25 minutes.

20120220-212752.jpg

After the timer was up, I turned on the broiler and broiled it for a few minutes until it got a crust.

20120220-212800.jpg

The flavors came together while baking and it thickened more. It is worth a try, but personally, I`d make it in advance, or make it with someone else since there is a lot of futzing with this.

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120220-212831.jpg

20120220-212856.jpg

3 Comments on “Vegetable Shepherd’s Pie”

  1. mythineats says:

    Nice twist…looks healthy. i myself did a twist on the traditional shepard’s pie and it came out Delicious.

    • bombedpop says:

      Mine is fairly healthy, high carb, but low fat and filled with veg and fiber. I like your deconstructed one, looks like something I could adapt as vegetarian. I’ll give it a try and let you know.

      • mythineats says:

        Well, please do. If you are doing fully vegetarian may I suggest substituting the meat with mushrooms and and peas or haricot verts… Let me know how and what you end up using and happy cooking.


Leave a Reply

