Basil Mint Pesto

I can`t say I really made anything today. Instead I prepped the rest of the weeks meals and ate a grilled cheese sandwich and a ginormous kale salad. My grilled cheese was not as fancy as the ones that I saw Ina make while watching the Barefoot Contessa at the gym today. Yeah, I watched a cooking show at the gym, but it was 4pm and nothing else was on, so yeah, I did the weird thing and watched cooking shows, which is rather odd.

At a loss when I got home, I decided to prep out the rest of the week because I was flying solo for dinner and didn`t want to make something with a ton of leftovers so this worked. This is on my On Deck and is a slightly modified Sicilian Pesto Batalli recipe.

NB This makes a whole lot of pesto – close to 3 cups, I’m going to go back in and freeze at least half so it keeps.  Also gonna try it on grilled cheese sandwiches.

20120227-214511.jpg

What I Used:

1 Large Bunch Basil – it was over 4 cups

1/2 Bunch of Mint – it was close to a cup

Approx 1/3 Cup Marcona Almonds – any skinless raw almonds will work, I just had these on hand

5 Large Cloves Garlic, peeled

Approx 1 Teaspoon Fennel Seeds

Approx 2 Tablespoons Crushed Red Pepper

Approx 1/3 Cup Aged Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese, Grated

Approx 1/8 Cup Olive Oil for raw use – I used a young oil I brought back from Barcelona. Just use something decent.

Pinch of Sea Salt.

What I Did:

In a large bowl filled with water, add the basil and soak changing the water several times until no more dirt sinks to the bottom. My basil was dirty. Do the same with the mint. Pick the leaves from the mint and just pull off the thick stems of the basil. You can use some of the basil stems, they have flavor and will process down anyhow.

In a large food processor bowl – I used the 12 cup and it was full, add everything except the cheese and oil and process down.

20120227-214615.jpg

Add the cheese and the oil and process again. Taste it and correct the seasoning.

20120227-214548.jpg

20120227-214541.jpg

This makes a lot – put it in a container to use later, coating the top with a thin layer of olive oil. That`s it.

20120227-214511.jpg

I also roasted my cauliflower for the frittata tomorrow.

Just break it sown and stick on a foil lined pan – drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with smoked hot paprika, pepper and a smidge of sea salt.

20120227-214503.jpg

Roast it in a 350 degree oven for about 45-50 minutes stirring every 15-20 minutes.

20120227-214437.jpg

Put is away for later.

Here is my cheese sandwich and kale salad I ate.

20120227-214429.jpg

3 Comments on “Basil Mint Pesto”

  1. […] and got some mushrooms to make something similar as I thought they would be a good use for all that basil-mint pesto I made the other day. I was tired since I did not get to the gym until late and this seemed as good […]

  2. […] Basil Mint Pesto (frshforce.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

