Roasted Cauliflower Frittata

I am finally making the frittata that I saw on emmycooks blog. I made some changes by lightening it a bit and adding some more veg, but this was for no other reason other than preference and not wanting to bust open a single serve yogurt for this. Hers looks amazing as is!

I roasted my cauliflower the other day so this was pretty speedy.

20120229-224319.jpg

20120229-224340.jpg

What I Used:

1 Head Cauliflower, core removed, broken down and roasted for about 40 minutes.

7 Eggs

Splash of Water

2.5 oz Naturally Smoked Cheese, I used a Gouda

3 Sundried Tomatoes, not packed in olive oil.

1 Leek, cleaned and sliced – mine was already chopped and in the fridge

Sea Salt, Pepper, Smoked Hot Paprika, Crushed Red Pepper, Olive Oil

What I Did:

Like I said, I already roasted my cauliflower so that was ready. Do this ahead and stick in the fridge so it is ready to go.

Whisk the eggs and season with a pinch of sea salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, and smoked red pepper. Add a splash of water to make the eggs fluffy and whisk until bubbly.

Chop the sundried tomatoes.

Shred the Cheese.

Add in the tomatoes, leeks and 3/4 of the cheese.

20120229-220518.jpg

Oil an ovenproof pan and add the roasted cauliflower. (ignore foot!)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour the egg mixture over the top and spread it all out with a spatula.

20120229-220432.jpg

 

Stick in a 375 degree oven for 25-30 minutes until close to set.

I roasted some asparagus and made a salad while waiting.

Timer is up.

Add the remaining cheese over the top and cook through another 10 minutes until it is springy and golden. Feel free to turn up the broiler for a minute at the end to get a cheese crust.

20120229-224308.jpg

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120229-224319.jpg

20120229-224340.jpg

 

 

6 Comments on “Roasted Cauliflower Frittata”

  1. emmycooks says:

    So glad this deserving dish is making its way into more kitchens! Great idea to add sundried tomatoes, both for the complimentary flavor and a bit of color. I will try that next time.

    • bombedpop says:

      The tomatoes were a good addition – I thought of adding the asparagus too, but luckily did not as I think I would have had to add another egg. try adding in the leeks too – they braise in there and are all cheesy goodness!

      I could not – not try this as I have an unhealthy, (or is it healthy?) obsession with roatsed cauliflower, but hadn’t thought to mix into a frittata.

  2. shiv says:

    looks good. i’m going to try that this weekend. i got a table at tickets during the week. cant wait.

    • bombedpop says:

      Good on you for Tickets! If you have a late res, or if you don’t, stop by 41 Degrees for a cocktail at least, you can walk in for drinks after midnight and they make excellent cocktails.

      • shv says:

        yeah i might still book the 41 experience you did but i’ll have to wait a month to book that. if i cant tickets will be a more than acceptable second best. did you get a table in the fat radish last week? any pics?

      • bombedpop says:

        Decided to skip Fat Radish, planning on going on a weekday instead.

        Oddly, Tickets is a harder res to get – probably due to price I suppose. I couldn’t get an res there, only at 41, though while at 41, the staff could have booked it, but we decided to skip.


Leave a Reply

