Roasted Portobello Mushroom Sandwiches

Nope, didn`t do an On Deck this week. My day was too busy at work and I was not going to cook Saturday anyhow as we went to a dinner party. My plans this week are kinda sketchy, so we`ll see what I do.

I had seen a recipe for a portobello mushroom burger with cabbage slaw online and got some mushrooms to make something similar as I thought they would be a good use for all that basil-mint pesto I made the other day. I was tired since I did not get to the gym until late and this seemed as good of day as any to make this. I roasted some asparagus and made a simple salad to go with.

20120304-221918.jpg

What I Used:

2 Portobello Mushroom Caps

Approx 2 large tablespoons Basil-Mint Pesto, this was in the fridge.

Sea Salt, Pepper, Olive Oil

2 Slices Provalone Cheese, or whatever kind you want

2 Ciabatta Rolls.

What I Did:

Like I said, this is super simple and takes like 5 minutes. Clean up the mushrooms and put in a baking dish or pan. Sprinkle with sea salt pepper and a drizzle of olive oil.

Spread a heap spoonful of the pesto over each mushroom.

20120304-215435.jpg

Stick in a 350 Degree oven for 30 minutes until cooked through.

Slice the roll and stick in the oven to toast.

Put a piece of cheese over each mushroom and stick back in the oven to melt. My roll was oblong, so I cut the mushrooms in half so they would fit right.

 

Assemble your sandwich with some greens, I just used the simple salad.

20120304-221833.jpg

 

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120304-221918.jpg

20120304-221928.jpg

 

 

One Comment on “Roasted Portobello Mushroom Sandwiches”

  1. Reblogged this on livindolcevita and commented:
    Simple yet delicious.


Leave a Reply

