Citrus-Dijon Salmon En Papier Style

This has to be the easiest thing in the entire world and can be done a ton of ways. And it is speedy – 5 min of prep and 20 in the oven and you are done. Usually, I will do the veg in with the fish, but since I was going to the gym, I thought that it would save some time to slow roast my veg separate on the side and stick it in while I was at the gym. This is super to do for a dinner party since you can cook everything in individual packets and just plate it by slicing the foil down the center to serve. It is also pretty failproof, it is hard to overcook it in the oven and it does not stink up the house like pan-frying the salmon does.

For this, I just did the salmon in some pepper, dijon, thyme, and clementine slices. I roasted the potatoes on the side and some cauliflower and added some dijon to both halfway through cooking.

20120306-214204.jpg

20120306-225431.jpg

What I Used:

1 8oz Center Cut Salmon Piece

About a Tablespoon of Dijon Mustard

2 Slices Clementine

1 6 inch sprig of Thyme

Pepper

Foil – you could use parchment, but I just use foil, if it is good enough to do at Les Enfants Rouges, then it is good enough for the likes of me.

What I Did:

Take a square of foil that will fit the salmon. Lay the salmon on it. Add your seasoning and veg on top – I just peppered it, spread the dijon, and lay down the clementine slices and thyme.

20120306-214204.jpg

Wrap it up into a package making sure the foil edges are all rolled up so it won`t leak.

Stick it in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes until cooked through. It will keep moist as it is steaming in it`s juice.

Like I said, I roasted some small potatoes and cauliflower which I started prior and did for 90 min at 250 then turned up the oven to 400 and stuck the fish in to finish and made a kale salad in the meantime.

Plate It.

Eat It.

 

Pic fail 😦 x2

20120306-225418.jpg

20120306-225431.jpg

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

