Tofu Banh Mi Part 1 – Pickled Daikon and Lemongrass Marinade

Since it is pretty spring-y out, I decided that this week would be a sandwich week. That and I like sandwiches.  Tomato-Avocado, Shrimp, and Banh Mi.

The Banh Mi requires some prep, so I prepped it today and will make the rest later this week, like tomorrow. Prep here are the pickled carrots-daikon and I decided just to marinate the tofu overnight, because, why not?

I used the recipes here for reference, after staring at several different ones online.

Pickled Daikon and Carrot

What I Used:

2 Large Daikon Radishes

1 Large Carrot

1 Tsp Salt

2 Tsp Sugar

1 Cup Warm Water

Just under 1/2 Cup Sugar – I tried to avoid using this since I don`t like using sugar, but could not figure out a way to mit such a large quantity or to swap it.

1 1/4 Cup Rice Wine Vinegar

What I Did:

Clean the carrot/daikon.

Peel the carrot/daikon. Now here is where I got lazy.  I am not so great with following directions when it comes to fussy chopping.  I just don`t have the patience.  So you are supposed to matchstick cut this up. I thought of grating with the food processor, then decided that the food processor is supposed to be able to julienne cut stuff and since the stupid thing cost me a fortune, I might as well try.  I had some fail here, mostly because I assembled the slicer wrong – I don`t use it very often to slice.  After getting it on right, I ended up more with triple length width matchsticks, or thin strips, but that was because I guess I was supposed to chop the veg up more and didn`t bother.  The thin strips are good enough for me, you do what you want.

Put in a bowl and add the salt and 2 tsp of sugar and massage it with your hand until it gets liquid-y and soft.  So, for a few minutes.  I did not wear a glove and this dried my hand, so I would wear a glove if you care about that. But it wasn`t that big of a deal, I put some hand lotion on later like I normally do.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Drain and rinse the mixture.  Dissolve the 1/2 cup sugar in the warm water and add the vinegar.  Add in the veg.  Stir it up and put away in the fridge to marinate for at least 2 hours.  I am sticking mine away overnight.  They say this can sit for a month, we`ll see.  I used a glass container instead of plastic because I not only know nothing about birthing babies, I know nothing about reactive properties and was afraid it might suffer in plastic.  If someone reading this know whether or not using glass matters, let me know.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lemongrass Marinade – For Tofu, but I suppose it would work for Chicken or fish or something.

What I Used:

2 Stalks Lemongrass, broken down and rough chopped – watch this video if you need some help

2 Huge Cloves Garlic

Approx 3 Tablespoons Tamari – I use a gluten free one, you could use soy sauce.

Approx 1 Teaspoon Toasted Sesame Oil

1 lb Extra Firm Lite Tofu

What I Did:

Put everything in a food processor and process together – it can be chunky.

Drain the tofu and wrap in paper towels.  Press Out the water into the paper towels.

Slice the tofu into 8 16 cubes and put into a container.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pour the marinade over the tofu.  Shake the container so that it distributes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover and refrigerate overnight, or at least for a few hours.

That`s it – I sat on hold with United trying to get my codeshare ticket number for a flight to Vienna I booked today while I did this. Then I sat on hold some more – I was on hold forever. I cooked like 40 2 meals while on hold!  Boo.

I am Eating this.

One Comment on “Tofu Banh Mi Part 1 – Pickled Daikon and Lemongrass Marinade”

  1. […] Your Bar Tofu Banh Mi Part 1 – Pickled Daikon and Lemongrass Marinade […]


Leave a Reply

