Tofu Banh Mi – Part 2

I could not decide whether to make this tonight or do avocado sandwiches. I decided on this, my tofu had marinated 2 days and was quite tasty uncooked, so banh mi it was.

Other than the recipes for the pickled daikon and carrots, and the tofu marinade, this is all pretty simple. Just bake the tofu and assemble with some cucumber, sriracha-mayo, jalapenos, and cilantro. I suppose you could leave off the mayo and call it vegan.

So I bake the tofu here, yes bake it. I find that baking tofu makes it firm up nicer and, obviously, it does not require oil. This is perfect for a warm spring night, or whenever.

20120313-225250.jpg

20120313-225301.jpg

What I Used:

1 Recipe of Lemongrass-Garlic Marinated Tofu

1 Recipe of Pickled Daikon and Carrots

Cucumber Slices, I used English Cucumber

Jalapeno Peppers

Cilantro

Ciabatta Rolls – or Baguette

Mayonnaise

Sriracha

What I Did:

Bake the tofu on a foil lined baking sheet for about 30-40 minutes until crisp for about 30-40 minutes at 400 degrees.

I just dumped the whole container, marinate and all on the baking sheet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After 20 minutes, turn the tofu slices and stick back in the oven.

Slice the cucumber, jalapeno and clean the cilantro. Make the sriracha-mayo by combining it to your spice-level – I used about half and half.

20120313-213208.jpg

Tofu is done. You might want to stick under the broiler for a few if it isn`t crispy enough.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Assemble the sandwiches. That`s it.

20120313-225135.jpg

20120313-225201.jpg

20120313-225250.jpg

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120313-225301.jpg

2 Comments on “Tofu Banh Mi – Part 2”

  1. […] Your Bar Tofu Banh Mi – Part 2 […]


Leave a Reply

