Cumin Scented Chickpea-Bulgar-Quinoa Salad

I have a confession to make, I didn`t technically make this, I conceptualized it, finished it, and seasoned it, but I did not make it. The husband did, under my direction, but he did. He came home to watch the March Madness and I went to the gym. When I got home from work, I took everything out and said cook this, chop all this and stick it in a big bowl. He looked a bit confused, but I think he was just trying to get out of the cooking. He did not succeed.

If you looked at my On Deck this week, you saw that I bought a bulgur wheat-quinoa blend. Since it was warm, I thought it would make for a nice salad with the red pepper, cucumber, and tomatoes I had on hand. It also leaves me with leftovers and I need something to bring to work for lunch tomorrow – this is it. It`s fast, easy, super healthy, and perfect for a warm day. It`s also vegan and can be made gluten-free if you skip the bulgur and go with all quinoa. This will go on rotation.

20120322-224115.jpg

What He Used:

8oz package of bulgur-red quinoa mix, or all quinoa – I used Pedon brand

1/3 of an english cucumber

16oz grape or cherry tomatoes

1 red pepper

3 scallions

1 clove garlic

Juice of 1 meyer lemon, regular lemon should work fine

15 oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 avocado

Approx 1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

Sea Salt, Pepper, Cumin

What He/We Did:

Cook the bulgur/quinoa according to directions on the package. Dice the red pepper and cucumber. Quarter the tomatoes. Slice the scallion and mince the garlic.

Put all the chopped veg in a large bowl and mix in the cooked bulgur/quinoa. and chickpeas Squeeze the juice of the lemon over it all and combine.

He set this all aside and when I got home I finished it off.

So I got home and halved and diced the avocado and chopped the cilantro. Add both to the salad and combine. Season with a cook pinch of salt, pepper, and cumin. Just season it until it tastes good. It was about 3 pinches of salt and a tablespoon and a half of cumin. You don`t need oil in this, the avocado does it all. That`s it.

20120322-224104.jpg

Make a simple salad.

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120322-224115.jpg

One Comment on “Cumin Scented Chickpea-Bulgar-Quinoa Salad”

  1. […] Cumin Scented Chickpea-Bulgar-Quinoa Salad (frshforce.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

