Roasted Cauliflower Mash + Roasted Asparagus and Shiitake Mushrooms + Poached Eggs

I am super sore from the gym having upped my working out-age to 5 days a week. Today was a 2.5 hour session. With that I am making something with less carb than I normally consume, not that I am giving up carbs anytime soon. Really I had 2 huge heads of cauliflower in the fridge and needed to make some room, so I decided to sub a cauliflower purée for polenta. I roasted some mushrooms and asparagus and topped with poached egg for some color and protein and voilà, another easy dinner. Oh and I didn`t do an On Deck because I was too busy at work.

20120325-215314.jpg

 

20120325-215415.jpg

What I Used:

1 Large Head Cauliflower

9 Cloves Garlic

Drizzle of Olive Oil

Sea Salt, Pepper, Smoked Hot Paprika

6oz or one single serve container of Greek Yogurt – I used 0% fat

1 lb Asparagus

1 lb Shiitake Mushrooms

6 Cloves Garlic

Sea Salt, Pepper

Drizzle of Olive Oil

2-4 Large Eggs (depending on how many you eat)

What I Did:

Break down the cauliflower and trim out the core. Toss onto a foil lined baking sheet with the 9 cloves of garlic. Drizzle with olive oil, sea salt, pepper and smoked hot paprika.

20120325-210943.jpg

Stick in a 375 degree oven for 25 minutes.

Now trim up the asparagus by trimming the ends and peeling the lower half. Cut the stems from the mushrooms and cut in half. Stick it in a baking dish or on a baking pan along with the 6 cloves garlic. Pepper and drizzle with olive oil. You can salt now or later, if you salt it raw, it will take longer for the mushrooms to roast up. Your call. I salted mine now.

20120325-211218.jpg

20120325-211229.jpg

Stick in the oven with the cauliflower. I stirred the cauliflower when I stuck in the asparagus/mushrooms and reset the timer for 20 min.

Timer is up, stir everthing. If the cauliflower is done, pull it out, mine was not so I stuck it back in for 20 minutes – I like to get it pretty caramelized.

Timer is up and the cauliflower is done, the garlic is soft.

20120325-211256.jpg

Stick it in a food processor and pulse until it is a purée. Add in the yogurt and pulse to combine. Taste it and correct the seasoning if needed.

20120325-211344.jpg

I have left the asparagus/mushrooms in the oven they were not yet caramelized. Check them now that your purée is done. Mine are caramelized. You can just turn off the oven and leave them in.

Bring a small pan of water with a splash of vinegar to simmer. Pull out the veg from the oven and plate it with the cauliflower purée.

Poach the eggs in the simmering water for 3 minutes and pull out with a spider or slotted spoon. Plate them on the veg.

I made a simple salad too while I waited.

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120325-215256.jpg

 

20120325-215415.jpg

 

 

 

One Comment on “Roasted Cauliflower Mash + Roasted Asparagus and Shiitake Mushrooms + Poached Eggs”

  1. hännah says:

    This looks wonderful…you had me at “poached egg”! 🙂


Leave a Reply

