Sea Scallops with Sweet Corn – Summer Squash Hash

I have two confessions to make. One, I like fried rice from Chinese take out / delivery joints. And I ate said fried rice last night instead of cooking. But that’s because I didn’t get to the gym until 9pm and home until after 11. So I ordered. This was faintly exciting as I have not had fried rice in over a year and a half, yet at the same time I was kinda loathe to get it. Whatever.

The other is corn. I like canned corn. I prefer it to frozen which I think has a chewy and odd texture that is not like any fresh corn. I used canned corn in this because fresh corn is not in season.

This is pretty fast and easy and perfect in the summer. It’s a good way to make use of Thai basil if you have it growing, which I did over the summer when I first made this. I stuck with regular basil today.

20120401-223954.jpg

 

What I Used:
1 medium onion
4 large cloves garlic
1 zucchini
1 yellow summer squash
1 pint grape or cherry tomatoes
About 1 cup of fresh baby spinach
About a half cup basil
1 15oz can sweet corn, frozen if you like that sort of thing. Fresh if it is in season.
Splash of wine. I used red as it was open.
Sea salt, pepper, crushed red pepper
Olive oil

1 lb sea scallops. This is way to much for 2 people but I could only buy as a pound or 1/2 pound. I wanted 3/4 pound because a half from Fresh Direct is always more like a 1/3 lb and 1 lb is always more than 1 lb. 3/4 usually gets me about 2/3 lb. For 2 people you just need around 8 or 9 oz. unless you eat more. That’s fine.
Olive oil
Pepper

What I Did:
Fine dice the onion and garlic. You want the onion small.

20120401-213919.jpg

In a large sauté pan, heat about a tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat and add the onion and garlic. Sweat on med-low for 10 minutes or so. I chopped the rest of the veg while this was cooking.

Dice the squashes, quarter the tomatoes. Add to the onion-garlic mix. Season with sea salt, like a pinch, pepper and crushed red pepper.

Let cook for another 5 minutes while you drain your corn and chiffonade the basil. If you are lazy like me, just roll the leaves up and cut them with a scissors into the pan, or on the plate or wherever you want them to go. In my case, I did them into the pan and added the drained corn. Let this cook for another 5 minutes or so.

20120401-215046.jpg

Add the wine, basil, and the spinach and let wilt. Taste it and correct the seasoning.

20120401-222944.jpg

Move the veg to a bowl and start the scallops. I just used the same pan, but rinsed it out first. Heat the pan on med high heat. Add about a tablespoon of olive oil. Let it get hot and then turn the heat to medium and add the scallops. Let sit in the pan for 3 minutes and don’t move them so they sear.

Flip and sear the other side for 2 minutes. I made a simple salad while I waited.

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120401-223954.jpg

20120401-224003.jpg

Which photo is preferred? The top – unfiltered, or the food filter – hipstamatic lens 2nd one?

3 Comments on “Sea Scallops with Sweet Corn – Summer Squash Hash”

  1. shiv says:

    top without filter. looks tasty..


Leave a Reply

