Pizza and Philanthropy

I’ve been neglectful.  Very neglectful. But I have been cooking, I have also been battling bronchitis and all week have been doing double duty cleaning out the freezer and killing off the leftovers by eating all the soups I have mad over the winter that I froze for later.

I did have a massive cookfest over the weekend.  The husband and I are team captains for NAMIWalks NYC which benefits individuals and families living with mental illness.  We were recipients of a $100 stipend from Fresh Direct to host a dinner party and if you read this, you know I pretty much only shop the lazy way – online with everything delivered.  With the exception of Market Hall Foods for my specialty items – imported flours and salts and spices and olive oils,  Fresh Direct is my go to for food.  I was pretty jazzed to be chosen to host.   I decided, to use it to host a party for the walk team, though we were sadly missing a team member who was away and could not attend.

We had a fancy Pizza Party.  I was a little worried at with having a Pizza Party since you can only do 1 at a time, but it worked great!  I bought the major major pizza cutter which has totes changed my life and I would highly recommend! It made cutting the pizzas small for cocktail eating perfect.

Please consider making a tax deductible donation online towards my walk effort.  Any amount is appreciated and all donations will go towards funding NAMI’s free education and support programs.  http://www.nami.org/namiwalks12/NYC/sarah

This post is gonna be a bit different.  It’s just pizza party – follow my recipes for the dough and sauce and cooking and all and go from there.

This was my menu and this is my dinner party story.

Cocktail:

Stalingrad Sunrise – Lillet, Campari, Vodka, Basil & Lemon

Starter:

Caprese Skewers – Yellow Cherry Tomatoes + Bocconcini (marinated mozzarella) + Basil

Pizza Menu:

Roasted Asparagus + Goat Cheese

Speck + Arugula + Shaved Manchego

Shiitake mushrooms + Talegio Cheese  + Truffle Oil

Artichoke + Spinach

Sausage + Crimini Mushroom + Onions + Kalamata Olives

The beauty of the party is that this was the Pizza menu, but after the first few rounds people took turns calling out what they wanted.  So there was suddenly an Asparagus + Artichoke + Arugula pizza, then Speck + Asparagus + arugula and so forth.

Dessert:

Irish Shake Shots – Guinness, Whiskey, Espresso Ice Cream

Swag:

Mise en Place Prep:

Scenes From the Party:

The Team Minus 1 member.  Please consider making a tax deductible donation online towards my walk effort.  Any amount is appreciated and all donations will go towards funding NAMI’s free education and support programs: http://www.nami.org/namiwalks12/NYC/sarah

Leave a Reply

