Fusilli with Broccoli Rabe, Roasted Tomatoes and Basil-Mint Pesto

I could not decide which foods to make from my pre-prep and then this won out. It is a riff on this, but I wanted more veg and color, so added the broccoli rabe and tomatoes, both which I roasted because I seem to be obsessed with roasting stuff.

I made the pesto yesterday, but this is just as speedy to make it all at once while the veg are roasting.

20120228-222441.jpg

What I Used:

1 recipe of Basil-Mint Pesto – you only need a couple tablespoons of it, just add it to taste.

1 Head of Broccoli Rabe, stalk ends and yellow-y leaves trimmed off.

1/2 Pint Cherry Tomatoes

8 Cloves Garlic

Olive Oil, Sea Salt, Pepper, Crushed Red Pepper, Smoked Hot Paprika

Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese, a few tablespoons

1 lb Fusilli or other short pasta – I used the Rustichella brand that I only buy.

What I Did:

Break down the broccoli Rabe and half or quarter the tomatoes. My tomatoes were small so I halved them.

Put both on a foil lined baking sheet. I put the tomatoes on one side and and the broccoli rabe on the other to start. Scatter the garlic cloves over it all. Sprinkle some smoked hot paprika on the tomatoes, and sea salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper over it all. Drizzle with olive oil and stick in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.

Make the pesto if you haven`t.

Start a pot of water on low and salt it for the pasta. I just start the water and when I am ready to cook the pasta turn it up and it is boiling in a couple minutes.

Timer is up on the veg, stir it all together and stick it back in the oven for 20 minutes. The broccoli rabe will be starting to crisp, that`s ok, this is why you are stirring it all together.

Make a simple salad.

20120228-214613.jpg

Timer is up. Check on the veg, is the garlic is soft and roasted? Tomatoes caramelized? Good, you are done, turn off the oven and turn up the water to boil. Not done? Just leave it in while you boil your water.

20120228-222400.jpg

Cook the pasta. Drain and sprinkle with a tablespoon or 2 of parm. mix in the roasted veg and a few tablespoons of the pesto to taste.

Plate It.

Eat It.

20120228-222421.jpg

20120228-222441.jpg

 

 

 

 

 


One Comment on “Fusilli with Broccoli Rabe, Roasted Tomatoes and Basil-Mint Pesto”

  1. […] Fusilli with Broccoli Rabe, Roasted Tomatoes and Basil-Mint Pesto (frshforce.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a comment